Wander logo

I Dropped Out of College to Travel

How I Traded Studies for Experiences

By Rhiannon RosePublished 6 years ago 2 min read
Like
The Colosseum, January 2018

My whole life, school has been my priority. I skipped the 8th grade, dual enrolled at the local college at 14, and finished high school with the majority of my AA at 16. Then, I was tired. I had excelled academically and was the youngest in my graduating class, but at what cost?

I had very few friends. 18-year-old girls don't want to hang out with a 15-year-old. Instead, my three friends were freshmen at the college who happened to be nice and immature enough to include me. I was a wreck mentally and emotionally, not able to handle the stress I'd put myself under.

After high school, I took a year off and worked as a nanny, a cashier, and a sales rep at several high end retailers. I loved it, but decided it was time to go back to school. After two years at a small private college, I found myself back at square one. I was stressed to my breaking point, I gained an unreal amount of weight, and I couldn't stick to a major. I was constantly anxious, my depression at an all time high. I had lost some of my credits from high school in the transfer, but also lost those key adjustment years of base classes to find your interests and passions.

So, I dropped out.

This was not well received. I got every criticism imaginable from my friends and family. No one seemed to understand what a strain this was putting on me.

I moved back home, got a job, this time at a cosmetics retailer, and saved up as much money as I could. Six months later I found out about "au pairing," which is basically a culture exchange. I would go to live with a family, full room and board as well as a little pocket money on the side, and in return I would watch their kids a few days a week and, in some cases, help them learn English.

I began looking for families right away. Originally, I looked in Paris, but after my first family fell through last minute, I turned to Rome. Everything was set up within two weeks of our first conversation and I was due to leave in two months.

When I told my family about this, they all smiled and nodded but no one truly believed me. I'd barely left my home state, let alone gone to live in a different country.

It wasn't until I'd booked my flight that everyone started paying attention. I was going to Rome.

On January 10, 2018, I boarded my flight for Rome, my first time out of the country, alone. I was a little scared, kinda nervous, and bursting with excitement.

I've now been abroad for nine months and I could never exchange the experiences I've had for a degree.

I've not only lived in Rome, but also in London and Edinburgh, and have gotten to experience sides of these cities that tourists can never find. I have friends from all over the world. I've learned a new language. I can cook REAL Italian food.

It hasn't all been fun and easy; I had my fair share of downs, like being homeless in London. It's not a long term career. But for now, for me, it's perfect.

student travel
Like

About the Creator

Rhiannon Rose

A 20-something American

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.