Wander logo

Hull if I know

No More Sailin'

By Margaret BrennanPublished 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 6 min read
4

Wandering through the arboretum, a place known for its boundless scenery for picture-taking, I came across an image that, while had nothing to do with flowers or plants, was enough to spark a person’s imagination.

Seeing its condition, I’m almost positive it’s authentic but then again, this isn’t just a park, it’s sort of a mini museum. Its purpose is to bring you into certain aspects of history: a statue of a female swimmer from back in the 40s, a large wooden cutout of Marilyn Monroe, just to mention a few.

The park is divided into two sections: the exotic plants and flowers, and the statues and images. A small non-fishing pier lies straight ahead ending with a gazebo that, without a doubt, fits the area perfectly.

There are plants that will bring hummingbirds, butterflies, and the curious photographers. There is a special screened in area for new seedlings. The park, except for a parking fee, is open to the public. The parking fee was established to keep the cost of maintenance to a minimum. When I was there, the park was undergoing a project to repair the parking lot, seedling buildings, and visitor walkways.

When I say, the custodians of the park were doing an amazing job, I’m totally serious. While the park wasn’t buzzing with enough workers to disturb its beauty, the dozen or so workers I saw, were extremely busy. Yet, as many as there were, and as busy as they seemed, they were all exceptionally polite, cautioning me to watch my step in one area, or to avoid another. They pointed out the benches that were newly painted and those that awaited paint. The benches had those infamous “wet paint” signs, but they assured me that there are so many people who insist on touching the paint to ensure that it was, still wet. I guess the world is full of doubters.

As I thanked them and prepared to move on, one worker pointed to a building that looked like it was about to fall. He said that while the building looked decrepit, it was designed that way to encourage all sorts of butterflies to investigate the flowers that had just bloomed. He mentioned the bench that they’d just placed there for people interested in spending some time watching or photographing those magnificent creatures.

After leaving the butterfly hut, as I decided to call it, I wandered around walking over bridge after bridge until I completely exhausted that section of the park. I felt it was now time to head to the new section where the statues and sculptures were.

I was lucky enough to encounter a woman just coming on duty and she walked with me to the area where I would find their orchids. I knew nothing about orchids and mentioned there were very few in plant pots. She said they do better when attached to a tree. The tree gives them the sunlight, shade, breeze, and water they need to survive. She said, that while it’s the way they grow most of their orchids, I would notice as I meandered through the park, several that they kept in pots in order to place them throughout the park.

I walked with her to the building where her office was, keeping our conversation fascinating. As she said her farewell, she climbed the stairs to her second-floor office, and I turned right to enter the gift shop where I received more useful information regarding the park and its scenery. The shop attendant indicated the small pond behind the building, something I would not have seen if she hadn’t mentioned it.

Since it was such a warm day, no wait a minute, it wasn’t a warm day, it was already a hot summer afternoon, I purchased a small bottle of iced tea and a tote that kept calling my name.

I left the shop and immediately headed to the back of the building. Yes, the attendant was right. The pond was amazing. No matter where you stood, and yes, I moved around like a bee on a flower, the beauty of the pond was stunning and photogenic. I snapped several pictures from many angles, one more gorgeous than the other.

Taking time to enjoy the scenery, I sat on one of the shaded benches and finished my iced tea. I was now eager to walk through the rest of the arboretum and see what else it had to offer.

A sculpture I mentioned before was that of a swimmer sitting on a very large rock. The swimsuit and cap she wore depicted the era to be early 40s. She’s leaning back enjoying the warmth of the summer sun.

Another sculpture was that of a young, women who is adorned in a rain slicker and appears to have gotten caught in a Florida rain shower and now is enjoying the sun to dry off. While the swimmer’s statue is placed on “dry” land, the slicker-clad woman is set in one of the small ponds with a fountain at her back.

At the time I was there, I noticed a few other sculptures but there was one that quickly drew my attention, not to mention my imagination.

It was the hull!

This item appeared to be a hollowed-out section of a hull that broke apart from a very large ship from the 1800s (or perhaps earlier). There is no sign depicting its era or from where it came. However, one look and you can easily imagine the men sitting on planks below the deck while manning their huge wooden oars to propel the boat to its next destination. The hull isn’t big. In fact, it’s only a small section of what the size of one of those old ship might have been but that small replica, if that’s what it is, is undeniable.

I often wonder if it is, in fact a replica or the real thing. Until I go back when the park’s latest reconstruction is complete, I will continue to wonder.

The hull is set off to the side, set in a semi-wooded area fenced off to keep the curious from walking on it. There are many weeds growing around and through it making it appear as though it’s been there a long time. Perhaps, it was.

I thought about going back to the gift shop to inquire about the hull but decided to just, for now, let my imagination run wild. The ship might have belonged to Ponce DeLeon, or maybe some nefarious pirate.

Yes, I will go back to that park, probably this summer, but for now, I’m happy wondering about the what’s and when’s.

I’m so looking forward to my next trek through the arboretum.

feature
4

About the Creator

Margaret Brennan

I am a 76 year old grandmother who loves to write, fish, and grab my camera to capture the beautiful scenery I see around me.

My husband and I found our paradise in Punta Gorda Florida where the weather always keeps us guessing.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • RD Brennan2 years ago

    I've been to this park a number of times and always just glanced at this piece of art. Outstanding view of an object.

  • RD Brennan2 years ago

    Incredible how you took a hunk of wood and made it into a story. GREAT

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.