Wander logo

How to Maximize Your Day at Disneyland

My experience of how to make the most out of a singular day in Disneyland

By Drew JohnstonPublished 5 years ago 6 min read
Like

I have gone to Disneyland many times, and most times I go it is only for a day. I have learned through experience and through other people how to maximize your day at Disneyland.

The Basics

One of the first things you need to figure out is when to go. There are many different schedules online that tell when the park is the least busy. I always find it best to go in January because it isn't too hot and not many people go to the park, so it is the best time to maximize your trip without too many people. Something else that I think will help maximize the trip is a max pass. While they may seem like an extra expense, they are super helpful. They make it super easy to get fast passes and get them faster. They also allow you to get all your ride photos and photo pass photos for free. If you decide to get a max pass, then definitely use this option. You also have to choose if you want a park hopper or just tickets to one park. Finally, download the Disneyland app. It is very useful to make the most of your day.

Starting the Day

You need to pick what rides are most important to you when you start off your day. Which rides are going to get the longest lines the quickest, and which ones do you want to do first. Discuss this with who you are going with beforehand and decide on a good place to start. I like to start at California Adventure with the Incredicoaster, Guardians of the Galaxy, and Cars. Those are the lines that usually get long pretty quickly and they are always the best to go on early. Make sure you work with the people that you are going to the park with in order to figure out the beginning of your day.

Going on Rides

Make sure you have a game plan for what rides you want to do and how long you are willing to wait in a line. Take advantage of the fast pass system as well. If you really want to plan ahead, look into how long the lines for the rides you want to go on are. Check the day before for wait times and also make sure that you are keeping track of wait times during the day on the app.

Meeting Characters

One of the most iconic parts of the park is the character meet and greets. If you are interested in meeting characters, you need to know what to do and when to go. Royal Hall is a great place to meet three princesses with a short wait. If you go right before it closes, you can just walk in and spend more time with the princesses. Make sure you know who is there and when they are going to be there as well. If you have a specific character you want to meet then find out where they are going to be and for how long. Always get to the line early or else you might not be let into the line or be able to meet the characters you want to meet. Always focus your energy on characters at the beginning of the day.

Something that can enhance your experience with characters is knowing what to do when you are around them. Come up with fun questions to ask them. It makes it a lot more fun not only for you but also for the characters. You can also look at other pictures of them and learn how to pose. This makes for better pictures with them.

Meals and Snacks

I usually make reservations for one nice meal while in the park. Most of the time I decide to do lunch, but occasionally dinner instead. I like taking one sit down meal during the middle of the day in order to take a small break and get a proper meal. If you have a specific time or restaurant you want to go to, I strongly advise making reservations a week or two in advance. If you want to play it by ear, then make reservations the day you are in the park. You can always make free reservations and cancel them up until 24 hours before. The restaurants are all really good in the parks and they are a fun new experience. There are also many restaurants that do not require reservations that are just as good as the other ones.

Always make sure to come prepared with snacks in your bag. Bring something that is filling and somewhat healthy for you (you can get some really good unhealthy snacks in the park.) I like to pack dried fruits and almonds. These always keep me from getting super hungry while I am in the parks and they make me feel better about getting churros and dole whip. If you are getting snacks in the park, make sure that you know where to get them.

Photo Pass

This is something that people do not usually take advantage of in the parks. The photographers take such good quality photos and they are something you should definitely use. These photos can be pretty expensive sometimes, so if you want to use them, get a max pass and take a lot of photos to really take advantage of the free photos.

Making the Most of the Disneyland App

This is such a good, free tool to use to check fast pass times, wait times, and to make and check meal reservations. If you keep track of everything within the app, you can really help to make the most out of your trip. It will help you to find out where to go next and which ride has the shortest lines. Using the app will really be a determining factor in making the most out of your trip.

What to Keep In Your Bag

I always keep a small bag with me whenever I go to the parks. In my bag I have more than what I will need. I usually bring a refillable water bottle that I carry around in my bag with me so I don't have to pay too much for water. I also bring my snacks with me. Like I stated earlier, I usually have almonds or walnuts, dried fruit, and granola bars. I usually keep a smaller wallet with me as well. I try to keep most of my cash out of the parks and in my hotel room. In my wallet I will carry a credit card, my ID, and my ticket. Then, I always carry a portable charger and a cord. This way I can always make sure to have my phone when I need it. Your phone becomes super important if you use the max pass, or if you put your ticket into your phone. Finally, I always carry around my fun stuff with me. I take my Baby Groot stuffed animal with me just for fun. I also keep at least two pairs of ears with me. I have a hat that I wear ears on and a pair of headband ears as well.

You can keep whatever you want to keep in a small bag for your trip, just make sure that you have enough that you do not have too heavy of a bag and end up uncomfortable during your trip.

While I have given you a lot of advice, just make sure that you do what you want to do in order to enjoy yourself. Have a lot of fun on your next trip to Disneyland. If you want to hear more about my adventures traveling, follow my instagram @smallgirl_.bigworld

guide
Like

About the Creator

Drew Johnston

The world needs to be seen and I have a passion to see it. I love sharing tips and tricks and stories about the world.

Follow my insta to see more adventures @smallgirl_.bigworld

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.