Wander logo

How To Be A Good Tourist On Your Next Trip

Travelling and exploring new places is one of the best things in life. This is because people get to see and experience new cultures and their traditional values.

By SHYAM PHADPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
How To Be A Good Tourist On Your Next Trip
Photo by JESHOOTS.COM on Unsplash

Travelling and exploring new places is one of the best things in life. This is because people get to see and experience new cultures and their traditional values. It is also very relaxing to get away from the daily hustle of their work and routine life and instead explore new lands.

However, not everyone is good at this particular activity. In fact, not everyone is even able to do what they want to do at this point in their life because of various reasons.

Some people have no idea about the customs and traditions of the place they are travelling to. Other people Also have a fear of the unknown.

These fears chasing them down and making them give up on their adventurous spirit, which in return also makes them compromise on their adventurous spirit.

But, there is a way to overcome these fears and psychological barriers, which turns your adventurous spirit to stone. It is going to be my hopefully inspiring tale of how I've overcome my fear of dirt and discover the amazing treasures of Egypt.

I used to be a non-traveler, one who rarely visited the place. But I changed my mind about that proudly one day while walking along theeki, a traditional stemmed water container used in Egypt.

I had noticed it was missing the usual colourful stickers and patches, leaving only 2 things important: a good and curious eye, and a living subject.

Soon I concluded that I didn't have to fight with others for a place in my heart. I had actually constructed my own little journey, a place where no one would ever find me.

First of all, I had to face the strange feeling that I'm surrounded by statues. On the contrary, when you encounter an antelope, or a sphinx, or any kind of monument, you would normally encounter statues.

But when you're in the Garden of the Hesperides, you aren't required to encounter a statue. You walk right by them.

So my first step was to greet the general Henri, who was coming towards me. And then I would say "Bravo! Who are you?"

This should have been my way of speaking, but I had never actually met the man; he was one of the many guides I had already met and known.

And then I would say "S Clemente! Nice to meet you." This is how I would introduce myself, in case there were no other English-speaking tourists around.

When I had finished my introduction, I started to get to know the other tourists present. There were 10 of us going into the tomb. Two people needed special attention: they were very big (they were Giant;

I was brought up on the size of those type of people) and they were passing away. Those two I was talking to passed away before me.

Henri, the Canadian man who was the host, brought us all back after the second customer had been stainless-bagged. That's when I felt uncomfortable and did a quick 180 and went to a group of people just down the path.

I was the only one who had actually seen the gravesites. And though I had, several others had told me that these gravesites never get cleaned and that they would never be cleaned since the government has taken control of all of them.

Colonialism, all in all, seemed to have made a fool of me. But I was lucky. I had actually met the people who were responsible for the cleanliness of the inside of the tomb and they told me that it was indeed very clean indeed.

A cleaning crew worked 365 days a year, 17 days a month, and a little over 180 days a year. Nothing is tonnes, but what they did was absolutely astounding.

And then my hair started to stand straight up in my skull and I had this completely bananas-in-a-box thought. The box I was sitting in must have been electric, because it had been unplugged during the time that I was there.

All I was, all my clothes and all my worldly possessions were placed in a sealed clay can, which was also recharged every day. What a life. What a adventure.

travel advice
1

About the Creator

SHYAM PHAD

I am Shyam Phad. I am the founder of The Financial Diary , and I love to write about business and finance.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.