Wander logo

Hopkinsville Kentucky

Starting off Small in a Big World

By Jane NPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
3
Hopkinsville Kentucky Down Town. 

Its always been my dream to travel and write while I travel. I first thought of this dream in July 2012 while sitting on the steps by an inside fountain at Gaylord Opry Land Hotel in Nashville, TN but, let's not get to carried away.

Hi, my name is Katrina Chavez. I live in a small town in Kentucky. I am an online student at SNHU and I spend every day thinking about how to make ends meet for my family. I have signed up for countless get rich quick schemes. Looking for some kind of miracle to better my family's situation.

I always have felt myself to be the one responsible for my family. I had to grow up pretty fast and I didn't really have any support. Even so, I forgave those who did me wrong and now I feel just as responsible for them too. Needless to say, I needed something to do other than worrying about money all the time and wondering how I'm going to provide for myself and my family.

So, I find myself daydreaming of a better life. Sometimes not even my own life, just daydreaming of a life that I get to travel. I even found myself making pretend plans and trips. Only then to become discouraged by the environment around me and the current situation I was in.

Then, I finally realized what was the key to my contentment, realizing that everyone has to start off small then keep growing bigger and bigger. Trying to figure out what you love, who you love, and how you love is apart of the journey. So yeah, I may not be able to travel yet but, how about not being discouraged by the places I haven't been by the places I have been.

So, why not start here in my own town, Hopkinsville Kentucky? In my head, it always felt like the worst place on earth. That I just wanted to break free of this place. When I actually took a minute to see what was really around me what I saw was close to amazing.

I first saw it my senior year of high school in my Interior Design class. My teacher Mrs.Henderson took us on a field trip at the end of the year to downtown Hopkinsville. The point of the field trip was to see a new side of our hometown. To see how beautiful and historic it is and also to test our knowledge on the different types of ornamenting and styles of houses and buildings there are. For Example....

The Princess Theater

Downtown Hopkinsville Kentucky

According to Cinema Treasures...

"The Princess Theatre opened November 27, 1911. It suffered a fire in 1942 and was remodeled in an Art Deco style, reopening as the Princess Theatre. It closed as a movie theatre in 1972. Today it is now a restaurant and lounge."

I remember the tour guide telling us that the firemen stated that any fire would be able to be put out without permanent damage to the place except if the fire started from the very top of the facility. Unfortunately, that's where the fire started so the place got burned from the inside out.

Beauty in Life

Candid Grace Photo & Video

Needless to say, despite the fires that were apart of Hopkinsville's history my friend Elizabeth Ann Poe, owner and developer of her own photography business Candid Grave Photo & Video saw the potential in Hopkinsville's beauty as well. That is where she took my senior pictures. Her perspective and talent show very well in her work. She captured the beautiful sides of Hopkinsville and used it in her work for an amazing and professional outcome.

All in all, I guess this place isn't so bad ;). My friends and influences made me see the beauty in a small town at the bottom of the state. Well, one town down and the rest of the world to go! :D

guide
3

About the Creator

Jane N

I love to learn and I am determined in my own success despite what life gives me at that moment.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.