Wander logo

Homeward bound

and being content right where you're at

By the nomadic trioPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
warm days; calm mind

Almost a year in the RV with two crazy cats and I haven't completely lost my mind. I'd be lying if I said it hasn't been one hell of a ride along the way. Between the adventures and struggles along the way, having views similar to this along the way make it that much better. Some days, I need to just get out of it. Get away from the same four walls that seem to occasionally close in on me. For which, I'm grateful for the people that I've chosen to be surrounded by. Those that are willing to listen to those silly rants and then allow me to join them on random trips to the store for a quick escape and not having to take the very thing I need escaping from with me. Yet, I find myself wanting to get back to it as quickly as I left it because it brings me the same amount of joy and peace. Knowing that it's mine and if I ever get bored of the place I'm in, I can quickly pack everything up and move on to the next place. A place where I can sit outside by a pit of literal fire during the midwest Autumn weather and know that I'm okay. I made it another day and I didn't have to leave my home behind to enjoy it.

Between the autumn chill and colors in the St. Louis region, ocean views and the mountains out west; the possibilities of where to go next is endless. There is something that will always be bittersweet when leaving one place to go to the next. Whether it's leaving behind family until next season or watching a new found friend leave before you do is always hard but the excitement of the next adventure seems to help. For me, knowing that I have a "home base" where I can always return and friends that have been nothing short of family, makes the next move/return better. If it wasn't for them and those nights where we've spent 2-3 hours on the phone because I can't seem to pull myself together, I wouldn't have made it as far as I have. I would have thrown the towel in a long time ago on this particular lifestyle. In the end, it is definitely worth it.

For some, it's worth being able to run away and chase that "70's weather" or to randomly change up your backyard. It's worth it, financially, for me because living the nomadic life, you don't have to worry about rent or utility bills. Gas, insurance, food and cell phone bill are the only things I have to pay for on a regular basis. I have been lucky enough to have friends and family that allow me to shower and do laundry have been heaven sent. That has helped with those expenses immensely. Especially during this years pandemic. If you're like me, then the option of staying at KOA or other RV parks isn't ALWAYS available. I've stayed in a driveway, KOA for a couple months, flying J parking lots and conservation/blm land. RV parks aren't for everyone but they do have nice perks of being able to plug into electricity if you haven't gone solar or don't own a generator. It honestly all boils down to what you have available and what your preferences are or how old your camper (or conversions) are. I've learned over the last year that not all places will allow anything 10 years or older come in to park because of safety issues and I'm okay with that. There are plenty of options if you do your research.

So. A year in the nomadic life down and hopefully many more to come. Celebrate what you have no matter how small, big, simple or fancy, any of it is. As I've learned over the last year, as long as YOU are happy, healthy and safe and it brings you happiness and joy in the long run, go for it.

solo travel
1

About the Creator

the nomadic trio

Just a nomad with two cats who refuses to live with most of societies rules. And who doesn’t like to occasionally change up their views with rent free living?

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.