Wander logo

Homeland Love

The Truest of Loves

By Kate WhittemorePublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

This world is full of both beauty and ugliness. Nature though is never ugly, it's the most beautiful and majestic part about this world. Some places are full of forests, some with bodies of water, some with flat land for miles, some have hills that may turn to mountains and so much more. Most people don't take the time to appreciate true natural beauty. Sometimes the most beautiful things are right in front of you, you just need to look.

Me? I'm from a small town in Pennsylvania, U.S.A. and not many people have even heard of us. Which is fine with me, that just means less people to try to take from its natural beauty. We have cornfields, bean fields, wheat fields and just open fields of grass filled with grass and flowers. We have hills that travel for miles which makes for astounding views. What more could I ask for? Sure traveling is great, it's amazing to see the rest of the world, and that I will. There's just something about your hometown.

My hometown has many amazing spots. We have the most beautiful waterfalls, dams, woods and fields. To someone who hasn't lived there their whole life it may not seem like much but for those who have adored everything about it. There're so many hidden beauties that you'd never know were there unless you were from there or knew someone who was. Most of the children in the town get along and they'll meet up at the park or the local ice cream shop. Adults are friendly and always wave and ask "how're you doin'?" Neighbors help one another and for the most part we all live in harmony. We have pretty much anything someone needs; a pharmacy, a post office, a barber shop, a hair and nail salon, a grocery store, multiple banks, gas stations, restaurants and so on.

I chose this specific sight because I feel it shows off the hidden beauty of my hometown. My friends and I used to always meet up and walk here when I was a young teenager. It's a place I use as a getaway, when life starts to push me to my limits I go here. I'll listen to music, write, read or simply just sit there in silence and think. This will be a place I take my kids to, I will show them the place that brought me peace in hopes they find the same peace I have. This is one of the first places I took my boyfriend when we began dating. When we first started dating we wanted to get a better look into one another's life. So what we did was twice a week we'd take each other to a place that means something to us.

This place is the most special to me as I've said. There have been so many firsts for me there. The first time I knew I was in love, my first kiss, my senior pictures and even a place that my mom and I enjoy to go together. My mom and I don't have the greatest relationship but when we come to this place it's like all our issues disappear. It's like for once we're at peace and so is the world around us.

The spot is hidden in Pylesville, PA. Here, we go swimming, have cook outs, go hiking and have fires. We all use it at a common ground, here it doesn't matter if you have an issue with someone, you put it behind you. You Ignore any issues, we all are just there to have fun and enjoy ourselves.

I've watched the sun rise and the sun set from this spot, I've seen the tides at high and the tides low. I've been there when it storms and when it's calm. I've met so many lifelong friends here from all over. It's a known hiking spot and is a great place to bring your family.

The love I have for where I'm from is like no other. I always say how I want to get out, I want to leave and explore. Though I know one day I will leave and start a life somewhere new. I also know nowhere will ever compare to my hometown. I will always come to this spot when I'm home for a visit.

You can find joy and peace in the most hidden of places. Places that most people are unaware of. Home is where the heart is and I know I found mine. I hope everyone gets to experience what it's like to find that one place you appreciate more than words can explain.

nature
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.