Wander logo

Holiday in the Park

Six Flags Over Texas

By Christina HammondPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

It's the most wonderful time of the year! Everyone is gearing up for Christmas and Six Flags Over Texas will not be left behind. From the decorations and different activities the employees have spent tremendous effort on to the carols that can be heard throughout the entire park; here are some of my favorite things to do at Holiday in the park and some things you may want to check out when planning your visit.

Obviously, first things first I always spend a few minutes to admire their giant tree, made of tons of smaller trees, in the front plaza by the carousel. It amazes me how they manage to create that tree and it is so beautiful. I love how they will have the lights on and surrounding it timed to music. I was lucky enough on my last visit to catch the lights going along with the Trans Siberian Orchestra's version of the Carol of the Bells, which is my favorite version of that song. Let's just say, day.... MADE. I definitely had to stop for a moment to rock out.

So going along with making sure you check out the tree, I would also recommend making at least one pass throughout the entire park so you can take in the sights. They seriously go all out with their Christmas decorations, it is amazing. While you are enjoying the sights, you may want to grab yourself a cup of their hot chocolate. I was wary at first to try it because I expected it to be like everywhere else, chocolate flavored hot water. Blech. But let's say I was pleasantly surprised. It was actually really good! And while it was definitely hot enough to warm me up it wasn’t scalding hot. It was as close to perfection as theme park hot chocolate can get.

Also, around the park are fire pits where you can roast S'mores. Mmmmmm, need I say more? Obviously, they are not free. In order to get the supplies — graham crackers, marshmallows, chocolate — you do have to pay $5.

All in all, walking throughout the park literally feels like you are walking through a winter wonderland. The sights, smells, and the Christmas music that comes from either the speakers or a live performance really tie in together to make it a wonderful experience. And I know my utmost favorite part... Is the snow hill they make for sledding! That is one of the things I miss the most about living in Colorado. At least I got a white Christmas. Now that I live in Texas, I just hope for the best that it will be below 70 on Christmas Day. Going down that hill covered in.... snow..... They tried, I'll give them that. Hahahaha. Anyway, going down that snow covered hill in a sled brings back childhood memories and makes me feel like a kid again. And they do not charge an extra fee for the sledding, and the line moves relatively fast since all you are doing is sitting in a giant piece of plastic and going down a snow-covered hill. If you do nothing else with your night, make sure to check out the sledding. Because, while it may be pretty cold to even think about riding some of the faster rides, this one is a Christmas classic and even though it may be covered with snow, it is nowhere near as freezing. As weird as that sounds.

I think we all miss that at some time in our lives, the magic that Christmas brings. As a child every Christmas seemed so magical, and as we grow up the wonder seems to be lost in stress, bills, work, etc. So it is nice to be able to take some time to just enjoy the holiday. For me, Holiday in the Park has become a Christmas tradition, and I plan to keep it that way!

activities
Like

About the Creator

Christina Hammond

Hello, one and all! As you can see my name is Christina, but on my blog I go by Christina Marie. I will write about anything and everything I find interesting or worth sharing, and I will try to make it as entertaining as possible. Enjoy!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.