Wander logo

Heaven on Earth

Manifesting a dream vacation!

By J BPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
Kihei Beach

It is easy to get caught up in the day-to-day grind of living, forgetting to take care of yourself or providing much-needed time away from work, people, and life in general. I felt exhilarated about the thought of taking a trip somewhere around the world, but I only had 10 days. I had to carefully plan a trip that would allow me time to travel to and from my destination along with enough time to simply enjoy the stay.

It has been almost 10 years since my last vacation, and boy I was ready to journey to a distant place. Amazingly enough, I found myself on a flight to the island of Maui with my long-time friend of 40 years. My aspirations were to sit on a quiet beach with a cool fruity drink and take a nap. I had no expectations for this trip, it would be all about the rest and relaxation. The flight although long was uneventful, it seemed like we spent most of the time in the air. By the time we landed we were ready to stretch our legs and put food in our bellies. It was time to get this party started. Heading to our hotel we found a secluded place that called our names and decided to have dinner and a few drinks before we called it a night.

The next day, I decided to venture out on my own. Driving down the Hawaiian coastline I found myself searching for an isolated beach to take a peaceful nap. I heard the town Kihei was a magical place with youthful energy about it. I was amazed by the people and their calm demeanor. There was absolutely no rushing here and everyone was so laid back. I found it difficult to drive the 20-mile speed limit. I like to speed everywhere and 80 mph had always been my minimum. I guess when you are constantly rushing through your day you don’t pay enough attention to the small things, but you are forced to slow down and take it easy here. It was difficult at first, but the surrounding energy of this place and the people made it easier as the week went on.

A beautiful stretch of coastline soon appeared to the left of me and I quickly searched for parking. Grabbing my gear, I headed towards the water. The sand was white, soft, and warm underneath my feet. I found a spot underneath a coconut tree and laid out my blanket. The water and sky are a brilliant blue colliding together to create this incredible view. I feel small as I look out towards the horizon there is nothing but water and coastline for miles. As I lay back to get comfortable and close my eyes, I can feel the warmth of the sand beneath me. The intensity of the sun feels good on my skin and the hypnotic sound of the waves flowing in and out lull me into a peaceful slumber. I can feel me drifting off without a thought as I hear children playing in the distance. A slight breeze passes cooling the sweat onto my skin and I soon find myself fast asleep.

I wake to the rush of water between my feet as the tide moves closer. I am not sure how long I have been asleep, but the sun is hanging low in the sky and I suddenly feel a chill. I look down and realize that my skin is burnt from the days' sun. My mouth is dry as I search for something to quench my thirst, and I struggle to pull it together feeling sluggish from my deep sleep. I get up slowly and take a quick dip into the ocean, the water is warm and feels exhilarating against my burnt skin. I know I will be in pain later. I brought my fins for a quick snorkel, but the water is a bit too choppy, so I dry off and sit still for a few more minutes before I decide to move. There is a sweet scent of steaks burning on a nearby grill arousing my appetite. A young man approaches and offers me something cold to drink and we spend time talking for a short while. He shares with me the local eateries and the events of the evening. I thank him for the kind words and the cold drink, and I slowly get up packing my gear to head back to the car. My first day at the local beach was exactly what I expected, quiet, chill, and restful. I cannot wait to explore more of the island and meet new and exciting people along the way. I am certain that I will return to the same spot for another nap before I leave this charming place.

I hope the beauty of this photo taken with my iPhone inspires you to take time out of your busy lives and enjoy your surroundings. Or at best take time to explore an area of the world you have not yet discovered.

Sending you love and light!

america
Like

About the Creator

J B

Newbie writer - love to tell and share stores.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.