Wander logo

Guatemala

Traveling to Guatemala

By Yoselin Vicente PelicoPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

Traveling, everyone loves to travel, well almost everyone. In their country, out of the country, just to go somewhere. Well I have gone out of the country a couple times, but only to my parent’s home country, Guatemala.

First things first, where is Guatemala, well if you look on a map and you find Mexico and go south, you will find Guatemala. It is considered to be part of Central America, or the start of Central America.

Now my parents are from the rural area of Guatemala, they come from San Vicente Buenabaj, its a colony of pueblos that make a whole district I guess you can say. Anyways traveling there and spending time there is truly a humbling experience and it is a fun one too.

First off over there we do not have heat, or air conditioning, yep that is right none of that, coming from a place of A/C and heat that was a bit hard but not for long. The house are also different, they have different rooms that open up into a courtyard that you have to into in order to go to a different room, so going to the bathroom in the middle of the night in the dark is not fun.

But it is a fun time for me, the colors the traditions, the family, all of it is great when I go home. I say home even though I was born and raised here, its home to my parents and to most of my family so its home to me too.

Now first things first the colors, the outfits they have some of the most colorful outfits that I have seen in outfits. And not only are they colorful but the skirts have beautiful threads that run through them that sparkle, its beautiful. And the tops are embroidered beautifully, and some are even done with beads that give them beautiful effect. So, their outfits are hands down the best part of their outfits, the second is family, there is a huge emphasis on family there. My uncles live so near to my grandma that it is a short walk from my grandma’s house. That is not to say that they are really crowded there not at all, they all have farmland, and their houses are decently sized.

But of course, there are the down sides to any country and home there is a lot of crime, and it is not safe there at night. My family always leaves to go home an hour or so after dark, and we always travel in packs. That is why everyone has guard dogs and big metal doors to protect their house. I remember once when I was there, we had heard gunshots near the house and my father brought a big knife into the room that were staying in to protect ourselves in case anything should happen. And then there was this one time that we had gone to a game an hour away and on our way home we had my uncle in the back of the truck watching making sure that no one was following us or that no one was hiding in the trees. That ride all the way stressful, even going to out car afterwards was rough but do not worry we were safe and made it home safely.

But Guatemala is still beautiful, with its beaches, culture, and its Mayan ruins, its to be admired but like most things with caution. So, if you plan to visit the beautiful country of Guatemala do your research and be safe, and above all have fun.

central america
1

About the Creator

Yoselin Vicente Pelico

Hello, I’m Yoselin just 23 year old living in Colorado trying to balance school, life, and my health.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.