Wander logo

Grand Canyon Railway – A Winter's Journey

At first glance, one would wonder why go to the Grand Canyon in winter?

By Jim DeLilloPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Visitors admire the drama of The Grand Canyon in winter (c) Jim DeLillo

First, like many Southwest tourist attractions, there are fewer crowds. By some standards, it may even be considered desolate.

But, therein lies the beauty. As a photographer, I often make painstaking efforts to exclude tourists and travelers from my scenic photos. One trick is to get up early enough to beat them to the rim of the canyon. There is less urgency to do this in winter.

The railway is a fantastic way to get to the South Rim of the Grand Canyon. It offers packages that include dinner and lodging the night before, the railway ride, and lodging at the canyon.

While this is a convenient and no-hassle way to book this trip, my experience would have me tell you to book each feature separately. This gives you more choices for lodging and more flexibility in timing – choosing to match departure time with the regularly scheduled trains.

The trip by rail is a mix of old-world charm, modern convenience, and a bit of showmanship. Even the bartender plays a character as she comes around selling the specialty drinks.

I boarded the Grand Canyon Railway Train in Williams, Arizona (c) Jim DeLillo

I was plied with cocktails, robbed by cowboys, saved by the sheriff, and sung to by a crooning dandy. The interactions were comical and very entertaining. It made the 65-mile trip and the 2 hours and 15 minutes each way ride go by like nothing.

To capture the action on the train, I used available light (high ISO, shutter priority, and wide-open lens). This allowed me to get clear photos without blur due to motion. I also used the flash, but in bounce mode, to eliminate hard shadows. While using flash in the interior of the train, you will have to watch out for reflections ruining the image.

Between the skits, I had time to both enjoy the passing scenery and take photos of it. First, through the windows, same settings as available light, but I held the lens right up to the glass to make sure I didn't get reflections from the inside lights.

There is a common theme here – watch out for reflections when inside the train. I was inside the dome car, which gave a greater view, but more reflective surfaces.

Arriving at the canyon, I took the obligatory shuttle bus tour. I stopped at various lookout points and joined the other tourists in taking photos.

The light was non-existent. Gloomy clouds hung overhead, a light drizzle pricked my face, and a thick layer of fog all but obscured the canyon.

My photos were limited to cliff faces that I could frame on the near side. I couldn't see across or into the chasm. My thoughts turned to black and white as I struggled to make gnarly trees into graceful silhouettes against the gray overcast.

I took an early morning walk consisting of gaining access to the rim trail starting at Bright Angel trailhead and meandering some four miles, as I tried desperately to find the right light (despite my dawn departure).

The canyon, of course, doesn't change, but the seasons provide a different adornment of trees, grasses, and, now, snow and ice.

The trail was a little slippery in spots as I struggled to gain my footing for the perfect angle.

The sun makes an appearance (c) Jim DeLillo

On the day I was leaving, the sun made an appearance for just ten minutes. I ran up from the train station to the rim's edge to take an image of the sunlit mesa.

If you go:

Packages: https://www.thetrain.com/offers-packages/

This article was previously published: https://www.allwaystraveller.com/continents/america-n/grand-canyon-railway-a-winter-s-journey

Be sure to read Jim Delillo's other featured stories on Vocal

You can write for Vocal, too– Join Here

activitiesamericafeatureguidetravel advice
Like

About the Creator

Jim DeLillo

Jim DeLillo writes about tech, science, and travel. He is also an adventure photographer specializing in transporting imagery and descriptive narrative.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.