Wander logo

Going Travelling, Because of One Amazing Person!!

Ready to Travel the World and Depart into Unknown Lands

By Claire FinchPublished 6 years ago 2 min read
Like

This is me, Claire. 🙂 All you need to know about me is I've lived in Manchester, England my whole 22 years on this planet. I love travelling and doughnuts. Also, Disney is awesome!

This last year has been the best in my life, because of one person, my boyfriend Tom. I first saw Tom on a popular dating app called Tinder. It's pretty much a swiping game of people. I came across a guy with a huge smile on his face, lovely eyes, and a strong jaw...'Perfect!' I thought to myself. 'But what're his interests?' I looked at one sentence in his bio, 'I want to travel the world'. A swipe right soon came after and we matched! He was first to speak on a topic I wanted to talk about right away. "Hey, we have the same goal in life! Where have you been?" We talked and talked. After a while, we met up for our first date. Ice skating was my choice. I said I can ice skate, but when he saw me bring my own skates, he wasn't happy. He knew I was going to be better than him 😉. The date went amazing and here we are over a year later, almost ready to do a few years of travelling, but I didn't think it would happen like this.

All my life I thought travelling was for people with money or it was their job. In my head I just saw it as a dream I was never going to reach, but Tom, being the person he is, showed me that I was wrong. He first pointed out my job, "Claire you're a Graphic Designer, you can be a digital nomad." Me being stupid was like, can I? But then I started doing more research and set up my own freelance design business called Claire Bear Designs.

Freelance Graphic Designer

I'm now working for myself, which wasn't the full plan, but it happened and it's working out great!! I had originally wanted to stay in my job until just before we departed and do my business on the side. Bbbbbbuuuutttt while I was in Pompeii, I got a text from the company I worked for telling me the company had been shut down, 'Oh no,' I thought to myself. Thankfully my business had kicked off pretty well and I've been able to work for myself and build my business even more 🙂

Me and Tom decided to do a taster travel for two weeks. In this time we went to Rhodes, Athens, Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento, and Venice. Visiting all these places in such little time, I thought it would have been a bit crazy, but I loved it! The best holiday I've been on, going to a new place every three days, was like a dream and the flights didn't really bother me. Here is a few pictures from that trip: 🙂

couples travel
Like

About the Creator

Claire Finch

Seen as many places as possible this year, BUT! soon to go travelling in the next few months! Excited is an understatement. I will be going on the incredible journey with my boyfriend, Tom.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.