Wander logo

Geierlay Suspension Bridge

Not for the faint of heart

By Diana LottiPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Geierlay Suspension Bridge (Photo Credit: Diana Lotti)

Many people like to seek adventure in different manners. I prefer to seek it through books, both fiction and non-fiction, and travel. I also define adventure as the need to learn via first-hand experiences doing unusual or daring things, whenever possible. However, there are times when I underestimate how adventurous I feel.

When I visited the Geierlay Suspension Bridge in Mörsdorf for the first time in 2019, I wasn’t able to cross it to the other side. I remembered it was raining when we arrived, but not enough to deter us from hiking to the bridge. We made our way through a direct and paved trail, passed a few kiosks selling yummy food and hot drinks, and arrived at the bridge itself.

People who say first impressions matter are unto something. Upon first sight, I knew I wouldn’t be able to cross it. I made up my mind on a big, fat no, and I wasn’t even directly in front of it yet. Fear stopped me before I even reached it. Thankfully, it didn’t stop my daughter nor my husband from crossing the bridge that day. I have to admit my little kid is a bit of a daredevil in all things that matter.

It wasn’t until 2021, when I visited Geierlay for the second time, that I was able to cross the suspension bridge.

Construction

It took 130 days and less than one year of planning to erect the Geierlay Suspension Bridge. A Swiss engineer named Hans Pfaffen planned the construction and completed the static calculations. The suspension bridge is modeled after a Nepalese suspension rope bridge, where a deck lies on two parallel load-bearing cables anchored at either end.

The Geierlay also has fall protection using wire mesh and wind load ropes to help with its stabilization. The length of the bridge is 360 meters (approximately 1,181 feet) with a height of 100 meters (approximately 328 feet). As such, it is the longest suspension bridge in Germany and not for the faint of heart.

Geierlay Suspension Bridge from the hiking trail (Photo Credit: Diana Lotti)

To Cross or Not to Cross

Back in 2019, I stepped into the bridge with many doubts in mind. I believe I took five steps before I said nope and turned back around. The bridge felt unstable, and it kept wobbling with each step I took. My heart sped up, and my hands became sweaty. Part of me felt disappointed because I didn’t have the guts to cross to the other side. The other part of me felt relieved when I got back into muddy land. I just sat there and waited for my daughter and husband to cross the bridge and return to me. I realized that I robbed myself of the experience. It wasn’t the ideal situation, nor a good example to set for my daughter.

Pushing forward to 2021, I was done being afraid of a perfectly safe suspension bridge. I wanted to see if I could make it to the other side this time around. And I did. Determination drove me.

I admit, the bridge still felt unstable, and it kept wobbling. My daughter also decided to be mischievous that day and tried to install fear into me. But my mindset was different. It appears that I learned to be resilient between the first and second visit to Geierlay. I knew I had the confidence to push through. Maybe I had a stronger mind, or I mustered bravery from thin air. All I know is that I put one foot in front of the other as I made my way across.

I found myself enjoying the moment. There was a light breeze, it was sunny, and it wasn’t warm nor cold. It was perfect. I felt happy. Maybe that’s what adventure is all about.

Photo after crossing the bridge (Photo Credit: Diana Lotti)

Hiking Trails

Once we made it across, we realized there were a few hiking trails in the area. Some were as long as 14.4 km, while others were smaller in comparison at 4.8 km. We were somewhat prepared to hike that day, and after a quick picnic, we set out to tackle the Geierlay hiking trail. This particular one was a 6.4 km loop that took us deeper into the forest with a small stream nearby and took us back to where we originally started.

Some paths were so narrow, people hiked in a single line, while other paths were wider. I don’t like setting the pace for other hikers, so at times we would sneak into small breaks between the trees to let other hikers pass us by.

Hiking Trail (Photo Credit: Diana Lotti)

The Geierlay Suspension Bridge is a must-visit infrastructure for those searching for adventure and beautiful views. I’m overly cautious to the point where I may deny myself valuable experiences, but being able to cross the bridge showed how resilient I have become in just over a year. It may take a few tries, but the important lesson is to not give up and adapt. We just need to have the confidence in our abilities to tackle obstacles, whether they are physical or mental ones.

“It is only in adventure that some people succeed in knowing themselves — in finding themselves.” — Andre Gide

Photos and story by Diana Lotti 2021.

The original story appeared on Medium.

europe
Like

About the Creator

Diana Lotti

Traveler. Photographer. Storyteller. MBA. Writing about first-hand experiences involving travel, photography, and self-development. Twitter: @DianaILotti and IG: @dlottiphotography

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.