Wander logo

Freedom

"On the other side of fear lies freedom." —Unknown

By Paola R.Published 6 years ago 5 min read
Like

As I sat there staring at my phone, I hesitate to checkout. The feeling of fear once again takes over. “Fuck it” runs through my mind as I press the link to purchase my ticket to another adventure. So many emotions run through me as the app is processing my payment. A smirk in my face. The smirk my soon-to-be-ex husband claims he hates. I didn’t realize I had a smirk until he pointed it out. The reason this precise moment brings so many emotions out of me is because I never had this kind of freedom before. Just ten months ago, I was so broken and beat down after walking away from my marriage of 20 years. In the past 11 months, I have managed to do so many things that, before I left my home, I never fathomed I would do.

It wasn’t an easy ten months, but I am so blessed to have an amazing support system that helped me get through it.

Now, here I am, planning as many trips as possible. I have a new sense of wonder and want to take these next few years to see the world. My limitations are only my own. I managed to take five trips while unemployed, I can only dream of where else I will go now that I have a job.

I still remember how fearful I was in the weeks leading up to my first trip by myself to Europe. I was so scared to leave my children. I feared I would die in a terror attack abroad and leave my children motherless. I know, ridiculous, but that was a real fear I had. I convinced myself if that is how I was meant to die, at least they knew I died pursuing something I loved. I felt so much happiness during that trip. Happiness I had not felt in a very long time. The sense of freedom I felt, I did not know I could have. I wondered the streets of Paris, Florence, Pisa, Rome, and Turkey! I was living a dream. That trip made me realize that I didn’t have to be in an unhappy marriage and have an unhappy life. I would rather work my butt off and have a week like the one I had in Europe than have the life my husband was giving me.

My next trip was to the West Coast the week after I walked away from my marriage. I tagged along to do charity work with my sister and my sons. It was a nice distraction to have those weeks. We had such a nice weekend in the West Coast. I was lucky enough to have that experience with my 18-year-old and 20-year-old sons. We all needed a distraction and they needed to see me smile. We had a great time!

Later that year I took a road trip. I traveled 1,121 miles by car with my 8-year-old and my best friend. That was the farthest I had ventured out by myself by car. I didn’t want to go. I just wanted my husband to tell me to stay and come back home, but he didn’t. That road trip gave me such a sense of empowerment. I only had $100 to my name for that trip. We ate a lot of $1 menu foods at McDonalds, but we were able to get out of town and have a distraction that we desperately needed. I came back from that trip feeling like I could do anything and still come out OK at the end.

This past summer I decided I was going to use my life savings (not much) to go back to Europe. I needed that high I felt in Paris. The plan was to take a trip to Budapest and Prague. I planned the trip so it could be during my 8-year-old’s summer vacation and not disrupt her school schedule. I was ecstatic to take this trip by myself again. In one of life’s “plot twists!” I ended up in the happiest place on earth, Disney World. I took my 8-year-old to Disney world. Being in the happiest place on earth was magical. As much as I wanted to wonder the streets of Budapest and Prague, I LOVED seeing my child’s face in Disney World! During this trip I was completely by myself. I was the responsible adult in charge of getting a child to our hotel and parks. I never had to do that by myself in my life. I’m in my early forties! I seriously have never been completely in charge of another person my whole life. I always shared that responsibility. This trip made me feel like I could do anything, and I mean anything! We made it home safe and ready to take on our next adventure.

The last trip I took was a few months after the happiest place on earth. It was a last-minute trip. I had no intention of going but I managed to go. I went with a group of friends to a party out of town and had a great time! I could have stayed home and never thought twice about what I was missing but instead I ended up on a trip I never expected to go and connecting with people I never thought I would. I fucking LOVE my life.

Flash forward to now. I have been blessed with an amazing, well-paying job that landed on my lap. My first check is double what I have ever made and I get an email for cheap flights around the country. I’m due for a trip somewhere! Anywhere! All I know is that I need that high again; it’s addicting. This time around I have the money and I don’t have to cater to anyone. Fuck it! I’m heading to the East Coast. I haven’t been there yet. This is what freedom feels like to me.

I’ll be sure to let you know how that trip went.

solo travel
Like

About the Creator

Paola R.

Sharing my diary with strangers.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.