Wander logo

Foods I Miss While Living Abroad From A US Perspective

Sweet potato dreams.

By sara burdickPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
1
Foods I Miss While Living Abroad From A US Perspective
Photo by Rajesh Kavasseri on Unsplash

I read an article last week about the foods that people missed while living abroad, and later that same evening, I was out and found myself at a table with other travelers - some of them long term travelers and some just here for a couple of weeks.

Somehow we got on the subject of food. They told me how they said that my boyfriend must try Lucky Charms.

It made me think back to the article, and if I were to go home, what foods would I want to bring back to Colombia.

What foods do I miss when living abroad.

Some things I only miss because I live in a small town, and can find in a big city. Yet if I were to fly home tomorrow and come back in a week, what would I bring back home with me?

It's so funny to think this because the longer I live abroad, the more I realize we in the US do not have "one thing we all eat."

For example, here in Colombia, everyone eats Arepas and Empanadas. They are just some foods popular here in Colombia.

Empanadas I have had friends ask me, "what food is what "America" is known for." I never have an answer. I always say, well, in my family, we eat no-bake cookies or make pot roast or biscuits with honey. I can not pinpoint one dish that would represent all of the USA.

Yet I can speak for Colombia and Argentina. I lived in Argentina for a year, and I can tell you they love dulce de leche, asado, and mate and empanadas. I miss mate, I left my mate and cup with my sisters, thinking it would be easy to go home and retrieve them, but that is not the case. My mate and yerba will have to wait until I can return.

So what foods represent your country?

I often find myself saying, well when people think of the USA, they think of McDonald's, Burger King, and Coca-Cola. I then immediately apologize on behalf of my country exporting obesity and diabetes. We are known for fast food. It is sad.

I often also find myself saying, well, the US has so many different cultures and foods, which I miss about the US is the diversity in cultures. I can get Korean or Japanese food and know that it will be amazing any day or night, and the next day get southern soul food.

So if my sister was coming to visit me tomorrow, what list of foods would I give her to bring to me.

Some of the things on the list might not pass security, but for the sake of this article, let's pretend:)

Sweet Potatoes

I know you are thinking 'this boring vegetable". Yes, I love sweet potatoes. I have not found sweet potatoes here, even in the big city! I love cooking them in the oven with coconut oil and cinnamon. To die for, probably my favorite vegetable. I could live off of them.

Little Debbie Swiss Cake Rolls

I love these. Swiss Cake Rolls also remind me of when I was growing up; I would get them with my lunch when I was a kid. When I was home over the summer, I would eat them. Not a lot, but I did gain a few pounds when I was in the US because I was eating things that I missed while being in Argentina for the year during the lockdown.

Tahini

I got obsessed with Tahini when I spent a month living in Kuala Lumpur. There is such an eclectic mix of foods there, and I found myself putting Tahini on everything, now I am obsessed. I found sesame seeds here and might attempt to make my own, yet not sure it will be the same.

Kombucha (GT's)

Ok, we have Kombucha in Medellin; I would have her order me a SCOBY online and bring the SCOBY to make kombucha. Next time I am in Medellin, though, I will get some home and attempt a SCOBY so I can make homemade kombucha.

Kimchi

I have not been able to find Kimchi here. I did make my own, and it turned out pretty good, but nothing like having good Kimchi versus my homemade attempt. Maybe I would have her bring me the spice needed to make it; I used red pepper flakes, which is just not the same.

Kettle Jalapeno Chips

My favorite type of chip. They have a few spicy chips but not the same as the Kettle Jalapeno. Spicy food is not popular here so I have been struggling to find anything like this.

Hagan Daz Rocky Road Ice Cream

My favorite ice cream. I love the creamy marshmallow taste. I know it is so bad for me, and I can't help but love it.

Lady Grey Tea

I love tea, and this one is my favorite.

Lucky Charms Cereal

I used to eat so many lucky charms in college. My grandmother would send me a box at least once a month, and between Lucky Charms and Swiss cake rolls, that was my diet. These would be for my boyfriend to eat since he would love them.

Hershey's Cocoa Powder

So I can make No-Bakes here!

Ok, this is a lot. When I am home or living in the US, I do not eat these all the time. Except for the sweet potatoes, I would eat those daily if I could.

It's interesting what you want or crave when you live abroad. In the US, we have such easy access to anything. When I tell my friend or family, oh, I wish I had XYZ, they say order it on amazon.

I laugh and say, well, we don't have Amazon. We are so custom to our ways and our lives that we forget that not everywhere is like where we are currently at right now in this moment.

When I travel, I always bring my own Vit D and green powder shakes (until they run out) since I know that these two things are hard to find sometimes.

I could not find Vit D to save my life in Argentina, and I know it helps keep me healthy, so I have a bottle that will last a year now.

The food items I do not need. It's just lovely to think sometimes, if only!

So if anyone wants to come to visit me, please smuggle in one or two sweet potatoes!

What foods would you miss if you did not have access to them?

XOXO

S.

america
1

About the Creator

sara burdick

I quit the rat race after working as a nurse for 16 years. I now write online and live abroad, currently Nomading, as I search for my forever home. Personal Stories, Travel and History

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.