Wander logo

Finding Wonder in Your Own Woods For Kids and Adults, How to Get Outside For Some Time Each Day

Exploring your woods makes you feel like a kid again.

By Kate NitzschkePublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1
Finding Wonder in Your Own Woods For Kids and Adults, How to Get Outside For Some Time Each Day
Photo by Pete Nuij on Unsplash

Porcupines hide in trees - did you know that? Look up. Go into the woods near your apartment, and wander. The first time I discovered this I was hiking in the winter. I looked up and thought I saw a great bird's nest. Nope - that scruffiness was a big ol’ porcupine. They are rarely in a tree, but you may catch them in the act of looking for food or just hanging out in a nest they made.

For the past few months, I’ve lived in an apartment. I haven’t really been out in the wilderness, or summiting mountains, or even going camping. Months into living here I finally went out into the woods. Nobody was watching me as I crossed the open field, passed the tennis courts, and walked in a few feet. The atmosphere changed from bright and sunny to dim, but not dark. As my eyes readjusted I saw trees and sunlight filtering through them. I took a seat on a beckoning rock, and looked around. That’s it. I didn’t go exploring like I did as a kid or anything fancy. I sat on a rock, looked around, and left.

When I got back to my apartment I realized that all of the thoughts I was having filtered back into my mind. The usual, such as how to make money, how to spend my day, what is new on the internet. Yet, the ten minutes I spent in the woods were quiet and familiar.

Peek a Little Further In

The next time, when I entered the woods, I hunkered down on a rock right at the edge of the field. Then, I looked to my right and saw a path I could take between the trees. I walked only a few feet further to see more open forest. Then, I eased down onto another rock, this one covered in soft moss. Carefully, I avoided the moss, preferring the stone so as not to hurt it. The creativity started flowing. I thought less about my worries, and more about how it feels different to breathe in the woods. Breathe in, sigh out, breathe in, sigh out.

Walk on the Log

As I sat looking into the woods, I had come upon a large carcass of a tree. There was no evidence of an axe, or a chainsaw. It wasn’t felled at human hands. This gnarled tree, peeling as it was, had been downed for a while. I noticed the large, flaking limbs protruding in different directions. As I observed it I felt the desire to balance on it all the way across. Had I done so, I would have fed my inner child, navigating the decaying giant.

Follow the Patches of Sunlight

Let your eyes wander, left and right, and then allow them to rest on the illuminated forest floor. The sunlight dapples on it, highlighting a path. When you are ready, follow it a short ways further. Don’t get lost except for in the beauty of the new section of woods you have found. Breathe in the air, note the sound of cars in the distance, be curious about where the squirrels and birds are. You hear a scratching that makes you startle at first. Then as you focus, you see a gray squirrel skittering up a tree.

By Suzanne D. Williams on Unsplash

The Hare and the Hound

By Jessica Fadel on Unsplash

As I brought my attention back to where I was, I headed back to the edge of the woods. After all, they weren’t that far away. It was then I realized I had been here before. Not in these woods, but in woods behind my Dad’s apartment. I slipped into memory. As a kid, I watched the snow drift down. Thick snowflakes drifted down quietly, making a soft patter as they stuck to the ground. My Dad, sister and I went into the woods, all in our snow gear, and played tag.

The game we played, Hare and Hound, was the most entertaining snow game ever. All it takes is unspoilt snow and a little sense of adventure. My sister and I would run around trees, skirt past bushes, and slide down small knolls. My Dad had to find us, but he could only follow the tracks. We had our head start, you see, and he couldn’t see us. Then the hunt was on - he was gaining on us, seeing us in the distance. He couldn’t break from the tracks though - he had to follow them exactly. When he finally caught up to us, we all panted out of breath. We plopped in the snow and watched the snow flakes join us.

I pull myself back to the present and think that if more kids and their parents play that game then it will bring them fun, adventure, even joy. I resume my walk back to my apartment, smiling at the memory.

Conclusion

You have a sense of wonder deep down, although time tries to muffle it's call. Go to your woods. You don’t have to take someone with you. Don’t approach a porcupine if you find one, merely watch. Bring your phone in case you get lost, or don’t. Pay attention to where you started, but from there take yourself further in. Breathe it in - you’re home.

For more articles, you are welcome to check out my blog.

My Blog

nature
1

About the Creator

Kate Nitzschke

Hey! I'm a gamer, who also works outside for a living, who also likes to write about personal growth. Thanks for visiting my blog.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.