Wander logo

Exploring Sedona Vortexes

My experience at four of the Sedona Vortexes

By Amelia SharpPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

Exploring a vortex is an experience. In October 2019, I traveled to Sedona, Arizona with my mom and youngest brother. We stayed in a lovely airbnb in Cornville, 25 minutes from Sedona. It was on a beautiful property with a water fall and pomegranate trees. It was a perfect place to retreat to from the busyness of Sedona.

Day One: Maybe Vortex

On our first day, we stopped at the Tlaquepaque shopping center for food. My nose immediately took me to this Traditional Pakistani chai tea place. We then went to the Amitabha Stupa and Peace Park. It doesn’t say on the internet there is a vortex there but I totally believe that there is, the energy is electric.

I read that you can tell you are near a vortex if the juniper trees are growing in a spiral. I climbed the mountain at this park and the juniper trees did this as I got close to the top.

Day Two: Airport Mesa Vortex

We got up super early and went to our first well known vortex, the Airport Mesa. The closest parking lot was already full so we parked at the top, worth it for the amazing views of the city, and hiked down to the vortex. My mom and I went to the top of the rock where the vortex was said to be. I meditated and felt lovely, but no different than just being in nature. My mom and I started to joke saying this is the “tourist vortex” and the real one is somewhere more secret. But then, I felt the uncontrollable urge to laugh. I laughed and felt an upward surge of energy and I felt most of it in my third chakra, the solar plexus. My mom felt it soon as well.

Cathedral Rock Vortex

After the Airport Mesa we carried on to Cathedral Rock, our next vortex. This was decidedly mine and Jarom’s favorite. A good deal of it was rock climbing. My 14 year old brother went from tired, bored teenager to a straight up mountain goat with endless energy. It is not an easy hike for everyone, my mom did not follow us to the top.

At the top most of my time was spent freaking out when I thought my brother was going to close to the edge, but I did meditate some. Here the energy was softer and more fluid. I felt it mainly in my womb chakra. It was my favorite for both the rock climbing and for the way I felt there.

I also saw something that can be describes as flying orbs. It was like a flash of purple light that happened multiple times.

Church in a Rock

Late morning we headed on to our third vortex. The third vortex we visited was the church in the rock. It is a church built coming out of a rock. It is awesome to see. By now the crowds of tourists have really started to gather so we didn’t spend long in the church. The energy I felt there was that of unconditional love and I felt it in my heart chakra. It was a place I would have liked to spend more time.

Day 3: Boynton Canyon

We got up at four Am to drive to Boynton Canyon. This was going to be our 4th vortex. But I took a wrong turn. So instead of seeing the vortex, we took a lovely 7 mile hike through the canyon. I was not overly disappointed, there are a lot of vortexes and on the way we came across a Native American Medicine Wheel. I spent some time meditating near this spot and the energy felt electric. The hike was also stunning with the sunrise, making our early morning totally worth it.

It wasn’t until much later, when I looked it up, that I learned the hike to the vortex was MUCH shorter than the one we embarked on. Nonetheless, I loved it.

We next traveled to the last internet known vortex, Bell Rock. Our legs were grateful to find that it wasn’t a hike, more of a one mile walk to the rock. The energy hit me more powerfully and quickly than the others had. Like a surge of lightening. Jarom and I played on the rock for a bit and then we headed on to food and rest.

During our short stay in Sedona we also saw Montezuma Castle, a castle built inside of a cliff, and Tuzigoot, an ancient pueblo. We ended our stay with a four hour train ride through Verde Canyon, which was delightful and needed after all the hiking.

family travel
Like

About the Creator

Amelia Sharp

I am a performance coach and hypnotherapist. I help performers have successful and balanced careers in the entertainment industry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.