Wander logo

Exploration

How Traveling the World Changed Me

By Lilly KalyPublished 6 years ago 2 min read
1
Oakridge, Oregon 

Wanderlust. It’s become such a popular phrase in today's society. You can find the words carefully etched onto jewelry pieces and lettered on maps and canvases in just about every Target you walk into. So many people like the idea of traveling the world but the only “why” they come up with, for the most part, is to seek adventure.

But it’s so much more than that.

Whether I’m walking past ancient ruins in the Middle East or carefully hiking through rainforest jungles in Rwanda, I am blown away at everything that comes to sight. To imagine how many people have once stood where I now stand is far beyond anything I can ever fathom. My mind expands and I am filled with awe at how vast, complex and yet at the same time, how small, our world truly is.

Back home my biggest problems include bills to be paid, my car being in desperate need of an oil change and completing five more credits to finally graduate from college. Yet for many people, the biggest obstacle is hunger. Children walking for miles and miles just to reach the nearest body of water. Orphans littering the streets, stealing to survive and families separated while parents work so that their children may have something to eat once in a while. However, in the midst of this, there is still a genuine joy and hope that radiates around those who are not yet completely broken.

I can’t help but wonder how I can contribute. What can I do to make the lives of those around me a little better? How can I bring healing and ease the pain of those I’m surrounded by that have so much less than I do?

So coming back to the title “How traveling the world changed me.” From all the traveling that I have done, here’s my answer:

The world is such a diverse place. Every country and its culture of people are so unique and so beautiful. But in the midst of all these differences, we are all still human. We have feelings.

For me, traveling changed my perspective and healed my brokenness. I have seen so many walls break down and have experienced my own heart flood with compassion for complete strangers.

So be present. Ask someone how their day is and LISTEN. Ask more questions. Cry with those who are mourning, and celebrate with those who are rejoicing.

Sailing on a boat in the Sea of Galilee, Israel.

Somewhere in the West Bank driving in a bulletproof bus.

Prayer at the Western Wall

Ceasaria, Israel.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Lilly Kaly

Photographer, coffee addict, explorer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.