Wander logo

Everybody Needs This Place in Their Lives... Everybody!

Kirkby Lonsdale; Perfect For The Mind,Body And Soul.

By Hayley DodwellPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
2
View of the River Lune

Everybody needs to visit this stunningly beautiful part of England, everybody! From the moment I stepped off the train at Oxenholme Train Station and took in the view before me I feel in love with the place. I travelled from Leicester, a single ticket for £21.50, bargain, though I booked it two weeks in advance, always wise to do if possible. My final destination and home for two weeks was Kirkby Lonsdale, roughly a fifteen minute drive from Oxenholme Train Station.

Before I ventured to Kirkby Lonsdale I popped into the Farm Shop next-door to the Station, naturally to buy some Kendal Mint Cake, to kick off the trip in style! Seriously, it's delicious, and perfect to have as a snack if you, like me, are a keen hiker.

Stepping back in time..

Kirkby Lonsdale is a small picturesque market town in the South Lakeland district of Cumbria, England, on the River Lune. It is on the edges of the Yorkshire Dales and the Lake District. Kirkby Lonsdale serves as a gateway to them both. The county of Cumbria which of course includes the whole of the Lake District. I intend to fully focus on this beautiful, rural, historic market town of Kirkby Lonsdale, as you must hear about what an absolute gem of a place it is! It really is unbeatable.

Okay, naturally you'll want to know about my accommodation, and yes this will make you green with envy, but my home for my stay was a stunning five bedroom home, where I stayed for free—the catch I hear you wonder?! Well it is not really a catch, it was a pleasure, I was petsitting, so my companion for my stay was a little sweetheart of a dog—whom I won't name, I don't want her on the phone demanding a fee!

Seriously though, petsitting is a joy.

My companion and I would head down this pretty road to the town centre to the shops, where you are spoilt for choice with a fantastic range of independent shops, traditional pubs, tearooms, restaurants. There is something for everyone.

There is a weekly market held on Thursdays and the town also boasts a monthly Farmers Market. The town centre is spotlessly clean and tidy, and a joy to look around.

The town is hugely dog friendly, with plenty of dog bowls full of water. Always a massive bonus, I have no time for anywhere which does not appreciate dogs!

Being as the town was so busy I would never of left my companion outside any shops, so due to her size (handbag sized!) I secretly put her in my bag whilst browsing the shops—but sshhhh don't tell anyone! Naturally the zip was open, she could easily breathe!

St Mary's Church 

After shopping in the town, which by the way had the Peter Pan author JM Barrie as a regular visitor, our next stop was Ruskins View. Our route to Ruskins View was through the Church yard of the beautiful Norman Church, St Mary's Church. Do take in this stunning building and the pretty Church yard.

Then follow the signs to Ruskins View. (For keen hikers the surrounding countryside is full of sign posted footpaths.)

Ruskins View

The view took my breath away, a stunning view of the Cumbrian landscape. Natural, unspoilt, just wow! I totally see why Turner felt the need to paint this place.

JMW Turner painted the scene in 1822. Years later the painting totally amazed the 19th century art critic, social theorist, painter and poet John Ruskin that in 1875 he described the view as 'one of the loveliest views in England, therefore in the world.'

Radical Steps

From Ruskins View you can head down the Radical Steps to the River Lune. The Radical Steps are 86 stone steps, which were built in 1819 by local man Francis Pearson.

A few of the steps were quite steep so due to my companion's little legs, a carry down was needed!

Devil's Bridge

Head to the right along the banks of the River Lune to the 14th century bridge, Devils Bridge. There is quite a story attached to this Bridge, according to local legend a woman made a pact with the Devil himself, who promised to build a bridge across the River Lune, in return for the first living soul to cross it. The woman agreed, but she tricked the Devil, she threw bread over the bridge and her dog chased it. Leaving the Devil with no choice but to be satisfied with the soul of the dog.

Though it is actually believed to of been built by the Monks of St Mary's Abbey, in York.

View from Devil's Bridge

Beyond Devils Bridge is a free car park, with toilets, picnic tables and most importantly a butty van! Selling drinks, plus hot and cold food.

Kirkby Lonsdale is heavenly, I can't speak highly enough of the place. Perfect for hikers, history lovers, families, a magical market town. My advice; go visit and fall in love with the town, just like I did. The only part I didn't enjoy was when the day came to say goodbye to my little companion, we had quickly become best buddies! But I needn't miss her for too long, I have every intention of returning...

europe
2

About the Creator

Hayley Dodwell

I am a freelance writer. As well as Vocal, I have also written articles for numerous websites, including, Eighties Kids, WhatCulture, Child Of The 1980's, Online Book Club, GoNOMAD Travel, Hubpages, and ScreenHub Entertainment.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.