Wander logo

Equinox Essentials & Epiphanies

How to Make the Most of Spring

By Sarah St.ErthPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
4
I Am Growing

I share my Birthday with the Earth. The Vernal Equinox brings the birds and the bees, and the pale green buds of new life. It’s the time to clear away the dead and make room, so the light can get to the tender green shoots pressing their ways through the soil.

Tending my inner gardens too, making sure to let go that which stagnates and stops my own growth. Thought patterns, people, beliefs that are limiting. It is Spring that I take this inventory.

Colombines i have collected

It is one of my favourite things to do in spring, peeking in all my pots to see who is turning up, and who is yet to appear. To till and airrate their roots and clear the debris that prevents the light from shining on them.

Everything is ardent, everything is in motion.

Including US!

The buzz of spring feels so enlivening this year, a sweet promise of rebirth amidst one of the hardest years any of us can remember.

Even more this year, I am appreciating the blue sky, the budding trees, the delight at first sighting of crocus or primrose. The invitation to let the Earths sweetness draw you into it intoxicating aroma.

As well as my garden growing, as we all do with the completion of our solar return, I am contemplating my year, what I have learned, and what I would like to learn. How have I grown?

That which have I taken from knowledge to wisdom, and that which I am just beginning to learn. I am visioning where I will go.

Stretching my arms to the sun, planting the seeds of my goals, sometimes with intent, sometimes only with a heartwish to grow, and move forward. Sometimes with a spade.

For all of us, Spring activates, Spring inspires, it lights fires in our spirits that burn away the cobwebs of winter that have lasted just a little to long.

This is My 48th Spring, and for this one, I am anchoring new paradigms.

Where creativity is re-entering my life after an extended period of logic and order with my routines, raising my sons and building our business.

This Equinox, my goal is to stabilize these hemispheres in me, order, chaos married at all points Creative AND Logical!! At Last!

Sprouting seeds indoors is something I often do, to have nice strong starter plants for the vegetable patch by May.

I sort my seeds into prioritized groups, and plan who needs the indoor leg up.

cucumbers,tomatoes, squash, cabbage and beans, all the delicate herbs, dill, basil & thyme, and who is best sown directly into the soil, the beets, carrots, potatoes and oregano.

I love Cosmos, and nasturtiums so I make sure to restock these as a birthday gift, because every year I plant all of them!!

I do not own my home, and build gardens with abandon none the less. Small ones, big ones, potted ones or planted, as long as there is soil and sun I will grow things.

I will Grow.

I have left them behind with thanks in my heart. For the borrowed time and resource shared, for the tempering of my humours, the soil and the sun, bare no comparison to any pill or potion.

The joy it brings is immeasurable.

While I order my insides, I revel in the magical disarray of the external world.

The chaos of colour and sound, singing birds, by day, the frogs at night, clear skies full of stars, the smell of green things in the air.

One of My favourite nights to sit out late at the fire and dream, always dream.

Contemplating all the most wonderful things I can imagine, seeding the stars with my vision. Calling to the spirit of this Earth with all my love and gratitude.

Happy Birthday Most Beautiful Terra

You are Loved by Me

nature
4

About the Creator

Sarah St.Erth

BC Born activist, Mother & Grandmother. Raised in Music and counter culture. My Pen name is an ode to my matrelineal lineage. Sign up for Vocal plus here

https://vocal.media/challenges/the-vocal-fiction-awards?via=sarah-wareing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.