Wander logo

Enjoy the Free Gifts Life Has to Offer

Too often we take life for granted

By Debbie CentenoPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Sunrise at Crescent Beach photo by Author

I Never Appreciated It As I Should

Nature is the most beautiful and relaxing way to destress, and it is free! Too often we take life for granted. Unfortunately, not everyone appreciates it. I used to be one of those people. When my husband and I got married, we rented an apartment in a condo at the beach in Puerto Rico. Back then, I did not think it was a big deal. Puerto Rico is surrounded by beautiful beaches, which are easily accessible from anywhere on the island. But other than to dip our feet in the water every few months, we did nothing else at the beach and we lived there for a year.

A few years later and after our children were born, we were living at a house about 10 minutes from a beach. Every day, between 4:00 and 6:00 p.m., we visited the beach with our children. But there is one thing I never did, which was to sit down and enjoy a sunrise or sunset overlooking the ocean. I have seen plenty of sunrises on my way to work and sunsets from my home. But never from the beach, and it wasn’t until a few weeks ago when I realized it. So, I began my research for the perfect spot to watch a sunrise from the beach.

No Beach Nearby

I now live in Florida - Central Florida and the closest beach is about one hour away. Living in Central Florida, I knew that I needed to find a beach facing east, which would be the Atlantic ocean. I preferred a place with a balcony and only sand separating the ocean from my view. I opted for St. Augustine’s Crescent beach just about 2 hours away from my home. We settled for the third-floor one-bedroom apartment/lodge on the beach and booked a 4-day/3-night weekend.

Unfortunately, the weekend forecast was cloudy with some rain or drizzling ahead. Therefore, the sunrise was not possible every morning. However, the one morning, I observed it; it was stunning. On the morning of Saturday, November 21st, I awoke at 6:17 a.m. It was still dark outside, but I wanted to experience the sunrise. Still in my pajamas, with messy hair, and carrying my blanket, I headed out to the balcony. There were a few sparse clouds, and it was a little chilly, but it was not raining. 

Sun peeking through clouds at 6:26 a.m. - photo by Author

Rising of the Sun

I sat on a chair and enjoyed the cool ocean breeze, the sound of the waves, and the song of seagulls flying above the ocean in search of their next meal. I noticed quite a few people arriving at the beach, possibly to see the sunrise too. The sun peeked through the clouds at around 6:26 a.m. Its golden hue shined on the dark ocean. Little by little it rose slightly covered by a cloud. To the right, I was seeing the clouds of water spouts on the horizon while the sun tried to sneak its way in. The higher it rose, the brighter it got. Watching the sun emerge through the clouds while listening to the sound of crashing waves was very relaxing. It fascinated me. How I wished I could have this view every day. More people gathered around, taking snapshots of the breaking dawn. Just like me, they were enjoying nature's gift. The sun had fully risen by 7:00 a.m. Even though it was not a sunny day, I enjoyed every bit and thanked the Universe for such a lovely spectacle.

Rising of the sun at Crescent Beach - photo by Author

The Gift of a Peaceful Moment

Other than watch the sunrise, we enjoyed exploring the city of St. Augustine. But for now, I want to share my experience with the rising of the sun. If you haven’t done so already, I highly recommend you take some time to enjoy the break of dawn over the ocean. To appreciate the beginning of a new day in your life because to see it is to know peace. Namaste.

nature
Like

About the Creator

Debbie Centeno

Debbie is an active spiritualist and medium. Yoga and meditation are part of her daily routines. She loves to travel and enjoys writing. Her blogs are Debbie’s Reflection (www.debbiesreflection.com) and Traveler Wows (www.travelerwows.com).

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.