Wander logo

Driving Teton Pass

Adventure

By Andrea Corwin Published 13 days ago Updated 12 days ago 3 min read
Teton Pass caved in 6/9/2024

In 1997, my daughter and I drove to Jackson, Wyoming, so she could check out an environmental college. It was June, and that summer had extreme flooding all over the western states. There wasn't GPS or mobile phones (or phone photos!). I took a paper map and plotted our route with a highlighter before we left home.

We flew to Boise, Idaho, rented a car, and drove first through the Valley of the Moon National Monument and Preserve. There were yellow flowers and yellow-headed Bobolinks everywhere we looked all over the black lava fields. It is incredible in June, so if you can go, do so!

After that beautiful portion of our drive, we began to run into road issues; flooding had closed part of our route. We stopped at a park overlooking a river gorge and realized we couldn’t continue the planned route. Some nice strangers standing beside us at the gorge gave us directions for an alternative road. I marked the map and went off, but further up the road, there were more detours for the flooding. We were witness to incredible sights; ranches and farmland all turned to marsh or ponds, lakes of rainwater surrounding homes, and water edging up to the narrow country roads.

The road is dangerous and below is from their state highway division warning trucks and others. (I didn't know all of this at the time of our "adventure.")

Usually, it is six hours of driving, but all the turns and re-routing took longer. We saw flooding in Idaho Falls and continued on toward Jackson, Wyoming. We were on Wyoming Highway 22, Teton Pass, and at the beginning, I thought, “Do I ride the brakes all the way down? Do I put the car in low? NO! That wouldn’t work.” It was extremely nail-biting and frightening. There wasn’t snow or ice, but the Pass is so curvy and dangerous it was stressful. Thank goodness, I was much younger then! Be sure to watch this Youtube video of the road I found to see the vistas, but also the curves and scary drive:

We arrived in Jackson (the residents have said they do not like their town to be called Jackson Hole, at least back then; now it is full of wealthy people, and movie stars are landowners) and found a motel. Then, the main street in town was about eight blocks long. My daughter still kids me about always turning out of the motel and going the wrong way; at the time, every day, she said, “How can you get lost in this tiny town? Why do you turn right when you should turn left from the motel?”

She decided against the small college, and I think she didn’t want to be that remote and far away from all she knew. She went to a state college two hours north of our home.

Speaking of finding or losing one’s way, today, my husband and I were driving, and he wanted to go to a plant nursery that we visited once last year. I told him it was the next exit, so he got off. At the light, he decided it was one exit down and was headed back onto the freeway, but I told him he should go to the right and pointed out a house I remembered.

“Nope, it is the next exit.”

“Okay, you will exit there and then end up winding around back to this road to our right.”

“Maybe, but this is how I’m going,”

Readers, who do you think was correct? ME! He had to wind his way back. My husband rarely tries to “find” his way. He uses an app called WAZE for directions and to be warned of speed traps, accidents, and slow traffic. I pulled up WAZE right before he drove back onto the freeway, and it also said to turn right. He couldn't; there were too many vehicles in that lane.

The day before, we had visited our daughter at her condo. When we left her condo, I turned the correct way down the hallway but didn’t remember taking the elevator to her floor. I am including this in the story for a reason. As we turned toward the plant nursery, at the exit he insisted was right, I turned to my husband and said, “I don’t remember how to get out of our daughter’s condo building, but I remembered how to get to this nursery!”

#tetonpass #jacksonwy #adventure #roadtrip

Copyright © 6/10/2024 by Andrea O. Corwin

Thanks for reading. If you liked it, please give it a ♡ and drop a comment.

Below is what happened at Mount Rainier National Park last August when we tried to go at night to see the Perseid Meteor Shower.

travel advicehumorfamily travel

About the Creator

Andrea Corwin

🐘Wildlife 🌳 Environment 🥋3rd°

Pieces I fabricate, without A.I. © 2024 Andrea O. Corwin

https://atmospherepress.com/interview-with-andrea-corwin/

Instagram @andicorwin

Threads @andicorwin

X - no holds barred! @andiralph

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (9)

  • Alex H Mittelman 11 days ago

    It’s a good thing you found all those alternative routes! Sounds like an exciting trip! 🤓

  • Novel Allen11 days ago

    My driving is very questionable, I avoid it as much as possible. Directions, forget it, I go up wrong way streets, wonder I never got into trouble!!!! Interesting story, some roads are so dangerous, makes you wonder.

  • Omgggg, you know what? My driving skills are very good but my sense of direction is sooooo bad! I tend to forget the way so easily hahahahhahaha

  • Shirley Belk12 days ago

    I remember the map and the highlighter trick! I miss those days sometimes. I still like to look at a map before I go but plug into GPS. There was more traffic in Wyoming than I would have thought. Always enjoy your marvelous adventures, Andrea!

  • Michelle Liew12 days ago

    My gosh, Andrea. And the worst is that some of these places don't have barriers on cliffs! Glad you guys navigated this safely.

  • Kodah12 days ago

    You have some interesting experiences, Andrea!! Can't wait to hear more 😲!!

  • Hannah Moore13 days ago

    I think I've driven this road myself! Stunning, and stressful.

  • Thank you for sharing your journey with us, and the images and videos are brilliant if scary

  • Dawnxisoul393art13 days ago

    What a delightful and captivating read! Your account of the journey to Jackson, Wyoming is brimming with vivid details that transport the reader right alongside you and your daughter. The vivid descriptions of the stunning natural landscapes, the challenges posed by the flooding, and the nail-biting drive over Teton Pass truly bring the adventure to life. We loved the playful banter between you and your daughter as you navigated the small town of Jackson, and the relatable story about finding your way to the plant nursery was a wonderful addition that showcased your keen sense of direction. Your willingness to share these personal anecdotes and reflections makes the piece all the more engaging and charming. Thank you for sharing this wonderful travel narrative. Your storytelling is exceptional, and we felt like we were right there experiencing the journey with you. Have a nice day!

Andrea Corwin Written by Andrea Corwin

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.