Wander logo

Diamond Tribute

Diamond Tribute

By Daniel Published 9 months ago 3 min read
Like
Diamond

Today i am here to write about my wife's little rat terrier Diamond. We got her in 2012 as a rescue dog. She was very shy and timid at first , as she got use to us she became this little bundle of joy and love. My wife has a lot of health issues: fibromyalgia, PDSD, anxiety, multi-chemical sensitivity and a feeding tube. So Diamond filled a void in her life because she was unable to have her own kids. She was a great step parent to my girls , she was just looking for more. Well this little girl filled it for her, she give my wife so much attention, love and to top it off she has a big bold beautiful personality to boot. Diamond showed us kindness, happiness, compassion and undictional love.

My wife invented this game to play with her called " hide the treat". Our dog does not like the cold , so she is mostly an indoor dog. She loves to chase things and hunt for things. So this game is all about that. My wife first gets Diamond to lay on her mat, then my wife takes about 7 treats and goes and hides them throughout the house. She goes back to Diamond and lets her sniff one of the treats and then tells her to go find them. Diamond has been playing this game now for about 10 years, playing at least once a day. This little girl has not ever missed even one treat, she always find them and we have also noticed that she remembers where my wife hides them and she runs straight to those spots first. This how clever Diamond is, my wife has trained her to go on her indoor potty platform on commend. Thats right, on commend. She tells her to go potty for # 1 and go poopy for # 2. To this day , I am always amazed when she listens and does it every time.

Diamond

Well a couple of days ago , Diamond was sitting on her throne as I call it and she sudden fell off of it. She was laying there on her side not breathing for about 30 seconds, she starting breathing again and woke up. My wife called the vet and told her what happened, the vet said keep an eye on her and bring her in to check the next morning. So we did, we honestly thought the vet was going to say she has a seizure of maybe a stroke because she is 16 years old now. But instead she got the shock of our lives. the vet looked her over and said she might have had a stroke because of her age, then said we should run some blood tests to make sure. So she took Diamond to do blood work to to trim her nails. She comes back with her and said I have some bad news. I decided to take an utla sound while they were triming her nails and found cancer all over her hind back and it has spread down and around to her underbelly as well. Now because of her age they recommended not to do the surgery to remove it because she might make it through it. The vets give Diamond about 3 to 4 months at most.

So I am writing about Diamond today because I want to pay tribute to the most beautiful soul that I have ever known. She was always there for us when we were sad or sick , licking our faces to show her love. She give my wife hope when her illnesses put her so close that it felt like death and in despair. Diamond made our lives better in so many ways, the bright light she was to us in our darkness times. So I hope and pray for a miracle to save our fury little daughter or at least give us one more year with her so we can pamper her far too much and love her for a little longer. I think the thing I will miss the most is how when I would sit down to eat my dinner she would come up to me and put her front paws on my leg and stare at me with those little dark eyes and when I would not look at her she would then literally tap my leg with her paw. to get me to look into those adorable eyes. Ok , I am crying now, time for me to go.I miss her already and she is not even gone yet. So please say a pray for our Diamond and helps us get a miracle !!

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Daniel

I am a 53 year old man, married now for 19 years to my soul mate & best friend. I have A.D.H.D and a processing issue. My wife has Fibromyalgia, Multi-chemical Sensitivity, anxiety and lastly a feeding tube. Life is never boring, lol.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.