Wander logo

Dear Montana

I Made it to Reno

By Marci BrodockPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Crazy Mountains

Dear Montana,

I thought I would die leaving you. I mean this literally. When I merged on to I80 West from Elko, NV towards my new home of Reno, Nevada, my chest tightened up so fiercely that it shoved waves of pain past the lump in my throat and spread through my jaw. I couldn't swallow, and for a moment I couldn't breathe. Slowly I took in a deep breath and felt it fill my lungs before I gently let the air escape through my lips. I could still breathe, so I knew I wasn't really going to die.

I didn't realize the exit from the only home I had ever known would have such a physical consequence. It was so strong that at one point I pulled off the interstate and sat in front of a small-town ER trying to talk myself out of going inside. I called my sister and my ex-boyfriend, both healthcare professionals, who assured me that I was experiencing a panic attack. I mildly convinced myself they were right. Yet, I stopped at a local grocery store to buy some baby aspirin - just in case - and set out west for the final leg of my migration.

Who knew that the rugged, untamed, and unforgiving landscape of Montana would feel like the safest place on Earth for a girl who longed so greatly to leave. However, this is not a homesick letter to let you know how much I miss you. Oh no, this is a thank you letter for breeding in me strength, grace, and the confidence to adventure out into a world unknown to me.

Your mountain peaks that ruggedly interrupt your big sky to the west and your plains that stretch out for miles to the east helped shape my heart and soul. You are the wild and untamed country where my character was shaped and developed and you will always be considered home, but now it is time for me to move mountains of my own.

Storm Castle, Gallatins

Reno is the home to many. For them, this is the landscape that has shaped them, but for me, it is a whole new experience. Every day I step out my front door, I get to experience something unfamiliar. Even the neighborhood I live in is still fresh and hasn't donned the shades of familiarity yet. It is still shiny and new, and I must admit that I love it.

Northwest Reno

The Sierra Mountains cannot compare to the Rockies, but they provide a playground of new discoveries every time I set foot in them. They contain their own peace and beauty that is uniquely their own. They will keep me busy as I venture into the scenic peaks and valleys that are unfamiliar yet still comforting to me because they remind me of where I come from.

So, I just wanted to say, Montana, that I do miss you from time to time. The physical pain of leaving took about a month to subside and there are still times my heart aches and yearns for you and the family I have left in your care. However, I am loving my new life in Reno. I will continue to write and share with you all the adventures I will have in Nevada, California, and other parts of the western US. It is time for me to fly and I am ready for this journey because of you and all who loved me and helped me grow. Just know that I will return to you again, though changed by experience and adventure, I will forever be your daughter.

solo travel
1

About the Creator

Marci Brodock

Finding the words between adventures to share with the world while living the life that only I can live.

[email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.