Wander logo

Day 2 - Thwarted!

Aw, come on, universe!!

By Meredith HarmonPublished 3 days ago Updated a day ago 3 min read
In the village, the peaceful village...

Morning!

Now, when I plan a trip, I tend to overplan. You know, shove All the Things into all the time you've got?

Post-diagnosis, I have to calm down a smidge.

Squishie-acquisition brain Does Not Like This Plan.

Arguments are had within my skull.

It's a weird place to live, trust me.

We've visited Erie before. We try to do a trip every other year for our anniversary, whether it corresponds with our actual anniversary or not. Erie was a particularly fond memory, of museums and lighthouses and squishies some years ago. But two new squishie machines had popped up in the meantime, and I need my fix!

First stop was at the zoo. Now, this is weird – last time we were there, I was quite unimpressed with the layout and design. What changed? I dunno, but it was pretty darn interesting this time. Maybe the addition of a metric buttload of cat species? Construction in the middle of the place, changing things? A nice carousel to take pictures of? We were quite hot and sweaty by the time we got back to the car, but I had all three sets of squishies, some nice pics, and some very pretty kitty pics and their murderous mittens. I'd love to pet them.

Menagerie carousels are the BEST.

It didn't take terribly long to get the other set in Erie outside a restaurant, and we turned eastward to move into New York.

And The Thwarting began.

Sigh. Some days are like that.

Bemus Point? They just freaking closed for the day. By minutes.

Jamestown? Both sets? Closed on Wednesdays. Only Wednesdays.

Three lighthouses? Too far north.

Springville. They're SUPPOSED to be open, but the sign taped to the door says otherwise.

A lovely drive in southwestern New York, and stops within it, only to be THWARTED.

Mama said there'd be days like this.

Well, at least I got some decent pics of a country-style carousel at the midway park.

Country style is less carving, simpler painting, so they can be disassembled and moved quickly. New paint job, and it looks nice!

One last try at the town of Castile before we move on...

Letchworth State Park. Doesn't sound like much, does it?

Holy. Guacamole!!

It's gorge-ous! Literally!!

It's a long way down!

What a lovely drive through the park, which is flipping huge! Because, you know, you just can't keep a gorge in your back pocket and unfold it for parties, then put it back away all nice and neat.

That was a fun drive!

We got to the gift shop before they closed, just in time to get the set and buy a few trinkets for our Squickle. Off we drove, passing a stone cottage at the exit to the park, to drive into the foothills of the Finger Lakes area and a stopping point for the night. I had wanted to be much farther today, but what did I expect? We're driving through a lot of small towns, and the speed limit drops at the town's edges, and we're in a rental car with Georgia plates. Yeah, we're gonna follow them rules. So we amble.

Hopefully tomorrow will be better for the acquisition of the squishies, though. Four in a row is a new record for me. Slight grump.

But, hey, a surprise gorge, with bright white rock. Devonian limestone, in case you're interested. I know I was!

Urge to go fossil hunting, didn't bring my climbing gear, and they might frown on my methods. Just a bit.

We found a hotel near Hammondsport to spend the night, within reach of three squishies. If they're open. If their websites don't lie about being open. Hey, a TV, I remember those things! (No, sorry, we don't own one, yes we are weirdos, haven't you noticed?) Baseball! So we watched a game. Do I remember who? Nope, it wasn't my team, but it was baseball, rah rah go team! (The more I ignore my team, the better they do. I'm ignoring them quite strenuously right now.)

But I do like baseball, and hubs has gotten into it over the years, watching my enthusiasm for the game. I don't even care if he roots for the same team I do, yay baseball!

Time for sleep. Hopefully tomorrow is better in the squishie collection, but just as good in the surprise gorgeousness.

america

About the Creator

Meredith Harmon

Mix equal parts anthropologist, biologist, geologist, and artisan, stir and heat in the heart of Pennsylvania Dutch country, sprinkle with a heaping pile of odd life experiences. Half-baked.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Rachel Deeming3 days ago

    That gorge? Magnificent. I hope the next instalment has great er squishie rewards!

  • Babs Iverson3 days ago

    Loved this and loved traveling along!!!♥♥♥

Meredith HarmonWritten by Meredith Harmon

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.