Wander logo

Chewing on Moroccan Sand

My experience in the Moroccan Sahara Desert

By Kate BolterPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Chewing on Moroccan Sand
Photo by Carlos Leret on Unsplash

Sat awkwardly on my camel, camera attached to my hip. My entrusted friend bearing the weight of my faith to keep me aboard, we were ready.

For the next 2.5 hours we endured a facial sandstorm, clasping on for dear life as we descended steep dunes.

I tried taking pictures but realized this was a bad idea when my camel jerked suddenly. He was clearly entertaining himself with my misfortune

An endless 360 panoramic of bright orange engulfed us, we were well and truly in the Moroccan Sahara desert

My scarf billowed over my left shoulder, sand crunching between my teeth, I cried out

"My Flip flop!"

My left flip flop had loosened itself, weightlessly flying in the swirls of sand and wind, our trusty Berber dressed head to toe in a cream Djellaba (Traditional Moroccan clothing) his indigenous tanned face holding a calm expression unlike the erratic sand

He retrieved and replaced my flip flop

"Hold onto it otherwise you lose it" he laughed

We arrived at our proposed accommodation for the night- mid Sahara

Noo Noo our tour guide, also in a Djellaba and a grin spreading from ear to ear due to the end of Ramadan, gathered us once we'd disembarked our camels- my demeanor rather awkward as I almost fell over my camel's head when he sat down

"Guys we will have dinner in 2 hours, for now you can settle in"

***

Sat cozily around a wooden table, our tents somewhere in the darkness to our right; we waited with hungry anticipation for our Moroccan meal.

A Tagine (a clay pot traditionally used in Morocco for cooking) was placed on the table. Sumptuous juicy chicken, white fluffy rice and colourful vegetables sat before us

"This is incredible" Grace mumbled through a shockingly large mouthful

"The spices are exploding in my mouth it's so well balanced"

"How is such a simple dish so tasty, the vegetables are mouthwatering" I agreed

We retired to the sand where a roaring fire lit the dark starry sky, tinny sounds escaped from the traditional Moroccan drums that Noo Noo and the other Berbers were playing and what I can closely describe as Native American singing escaped from their mouths.

One by one we gathered around the fire, dancing and jumping arms flying over our heads, our shadows flickering like flames around us

The group thinned leaving me, Grace, Sebastian, Britanny, Alice, Brad and Rachel led like a jigsaw puzzle on the sand under the stars with the remaining embers of fire smoldering next us

The next morning we woke up at 05:45, we were unsightly

Unwashed and delirious from lack of sleep we dragged ourselves 'out of bed' and set about our journey back.

My state didn't bother me - I was about to encounter Sunrise Sahara

Our return mirrored the previous day- awkward movements up and down sand hills, holding on for dear life, scarf draped over my shoulders with little care of sand swirling about my face

Excitable chatter and laughter silenced at the striking view around us

Sunrise Sahara

The already lightening sky made a bright blue backdrop, a blanket of shadow covering dips in the dunes, slowly removed to reveal bright orange sand

The sun rose from the horizon strong and burning lighting everything in it's wake

We returned to civilization where our mini bus was waiting to return us to Marrakech

Djemaa EL-FNA Marrakech's famous market where busy cafes meet snake charmers and bustling souks of sequined scarves shimmer in the sunshine next to richly coloured spices flavouring the air. A frantic circus of entertainment and bewildering sights of monkey's on chains- I wish I hadn't seen that

"Guys I had a brilliant time, enjoy the market, don't stay too long or lose each other and thank you for being such a great bunch"

Marrakech & Beyond. On the Go Tours from £595.00 pp

humor
Like

About the Creator

Kate Bolter

I'm a crazy little 36 year old. Love to write about my travels even though it's been ages since I've been away! (even before Covid)

Majority of my travel was in Australia but also trying to broaden that-eventually!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.