Wander logo

Chasing the Sunset

My first trip abroad

By MR. ERIQPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
2

This collage is from my first trip overseas. I was 23, just got my passport and was ready to fill it with adventures. I didn’t have a professional camera at the time, so I download a photo editing app, Cymera, to create my own postcards. Being a fan of the writer, Heinrich Heine, my first stop had to be his birthplace, Düsseldorf, Germany. Located in West Germany, this riverside town instantly stole my heart. It was like a dream being there; being face to face with things I’ve only seen in books. I was blown away with the modern architecture hidden within a forest. This city has a perfect balance of a high tech big city with an old-world charm that you would expect in any other historic city. Being there reminded me of all the settings and poems in Heine’s books. Being an opera singer, I couldn’t help but hum songs of other Düsseldorf natives. Before flying out, I did a little research on things I shouldn’t miss.

Wandering around the city, I found all sorts of beautiful sites and hundred-year-old bakeries with yummy desserts inside. One of the must-sees, however, was the Rhein River. So many works have been inspired by this river and according to the travel blogs, the sun setting on the Rhein is considered one of the most romantic views in the world. Although I was traveling alone, I love a good view and a lack of partner was not going to stop me from enjoying the gorgeous sunset.

I got some currywurst and an altbier and followed the online guide’s instructions to the steps of the St. Lambertus cathedral. After chatting with a local, I was surprised to find out that this was a regular activity for Düseeldorfers on any given day. It was common for them to go for a walk by the river and catch the sunset before grabbing dinner or drinks in the Altstadt. There were people selling popcorn and ice cream as if we were at a baseball game and street performers were putting on an opening act before the sun tucked itself into the riverbed. I had to take a picture of the crowd as I waited. It was almost as electric as the sunset view. The view was so beautiful I joined the locals and made it a nightly routine to watch the sunset before seeing more of the city’s nightlife.

This photo reminds me of the sense of community I felt watching locals intermingled with tourists. I took the pictures with my phone and ran it through a filter to bring out the colors I remember seeing. With the originals being on an iPhone 5s from 2013, the quality wasn’t the best. It also didn’t help that I was shaking from excitement. Seeing this collage brings back so many great memories of meeting people from all over the world that would later become good friends. Being so young when I took these, the photos also made me critical about the quality of my camera. So naturally, I was inspired to invest in a better camera to capture better pictures.

It’s said that a picture says a thousand words but often, they say much more than that. They give an invitation to explore; to step out of our comfort zone and make new friends. You’ll never know who you’ll meet. I met some of my closest friends from Canada, Scotland, Brazil, and even one who lived about 20 minutes away from me in California! Because of this, I will forever be chasing sunsets and making friends along the way.

travel photography
2

About the Creator

MR. ERIQ

I wanted this to be a fountain of knowledge but let face it, its a junk drawer of word vomit with morsels you can use.

But for those who want to know:

I'm a singer, writer, and queer teaching artist who enjoys talking out loud to himself

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.