Wander logo

Can The Camino De Santiago Heal A Broken Heart

If you like me, want to find a sense of peace, go walk the Camino and see for yourself whether the Camino can take away the pain and heal a broken heart.

By Samantha WilsonPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

Why are so many people drawn to walking a Camino de Santiago? As I share in my book A Wild Woman’s Guide to the Camino De Santiago, there are many reasons. One being the need to heal a broken heart.

I saw many people grieving during my first Camino Frances in 2016, sat by the side of the road, alone. Sometimes, I would join them, offering a shoulder to cry on, and a tissue to wipe away their tears. They’d lost someone dear to them. They were on the Camino to heal.

It works, my friend, like an emotional clean out. The Camino can take away the pain. The Camino gives a person who is grieving the opportunity to reflect, not just on the loss, but the life their loved one lived.

Yet many people aren’t grieving the loss of a loved one. They are healing from the pain of the past, the hardships they have suffered, the mistake they have made, and the losses of living a life with a lack of emotional ease. Broken hearts are often caused by people who are still living. Indeed, we often break our own hearts.

I’ve come to see the silver lining of a broken heart, through the pain and all the tears. A broken heart means that one has loved long and well, even if they lost out in the end only to find strength in their vulnerability.

Which is how I have come to see my own Camino journey. While I’m a guide who lives on the Camino de Santiago since 2018, my journey reflects a tremendous amount of healing on an emotional level during the last ten years.

You see, I was once a lawyer in the UK who lived a high-pressured lifestyle despite loving the great, big wide and the freedom of travelling. The stress and strain of a high-pressured job coupled with wounds from childhood experiences meant that I burnt out so badly. I needed to heal.

So off I went to Spain, leaving behind a job that was destroying me. What did I find? Freedom. Yet I was living with a broken heart from emotional wounds from my childhood that kept me chained to the past.

I found my way to the Camino in 2016 when I walked the French Way. I gave as much of my pain as I could to the path until I walked on sunshine in the Meseta yet still I could not heal.

So, I found myself on the Camino Portuguese in 2018 after the end of a turbulent relationship and devastated by the recent loss of my ten-year adventure-partner-in-crime, Sally my beloved dog. Her death was a trigger for all of the old childhood pain and wounds I was carrying. I practically sobbed the whole 300 kilometres and still I could not heal.

So, grief became my companion for the next couple of years, as I worked through the layers of confusion, the pain and the tears but still I couldn’t feel a sense of emotional ease.

So, I found myself yet again wandering solo on the Camino again this month. I choose to walk the Portuguese Spiritual route and the sense of relief was immediate. This time, I knew it. I’d finally healed.

How did I know? Because I finally at peace. Peace with the past and the decisions that I’ve made. Peace with my mistakes and the errors that kept me chained to the past. I’m at peace with the world and the people all around me. The sense of peace I experienced often brought me to my knees in tears.

So, I continued on my journey and travelled back to the Camino Frances to walk the Leon to Sairra stage. I’d missed part of this section during my 2016 Camino.

Even in the days leading up to the peak of the walk, I felt such a deep sense of gratitude just to be alive. To live in the moment. To settle into taking step after step with ease.

Gone was the grumbling from my previous Caminos. Instead, I smiled at my blisters, as I praised my legs and feet with every step I took. I let my chest expand in and out as my lungs pumped me through. I thanked my brain for keeping me on the straight and narrow for all of these years. For giving me a sense of willpower and determination to see everything through.

Most of all, I loved my heart for having the courage to express my vulnerability and soften my hard edges. To no longer wage a war of disharmony around me, fighting over this and that and instead settle into a soft, gentle sense of peace.

And so I found myself approaching Cruz de Ferro, a place where many pilgrims pledge to set down their worries, their pain and their fears. Many place a stone at the top as a symbolic gesture. For me, I was looking for the final release.

The weather was unpleasant, rain steadily drizzling as the wind howled at my ears. My hands were frozen as I huffed and puffed up the mountain side yet still I persisted without a grumble or in fear. In the end, as I reached the top, I felt as if something in my heart released once and for all. I was finally free.

I used to search for joy or euphoria on the Camino, even laughter or tears, yet I’ve come to realise the true gift of the Camino is really a sense of peace.

Which is why I’m blessed to be a guide of the Camino. To share my knowledge with pilgrims, not just on the practical side of walking, but also in sharing my story to help others find a sense of ease.

So, if you like me, want to find a sense of peace, go walk the Camino and see for yourself whether the Camino can take away the pain and heal a broken heart.

If you would like to follow in my footsteps and walk a Camino de Santiago, check out my book, A Wild Woman’s Guide To The Camino de Santiago. I share everything you need to know before you begin your Camino. Read at A Wild Woman’s Guide To The Camino De Santiago. .

.

budget travel
Like

About the Creator

Samantha Wilson

Visit Samantha at www.samantha-wilson.com or follow on Facebook at www.facebook.com/samanthawilson or Instagram at www.instagram.com/samanthaemmawilson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.