Wander logo

Blogging About My Small Town

Moving to Saint Augustine and keeping up contacts is easy with social media.

By Heather WilkinsPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

I have lived in Tampa for 23 years. I used to have family living on the northern coastline in the Jacksonville area up till I was about the age of eigh. Now that I am living here, I decided to write a blog about this small Floridian town and what it means for someone like me with a background issue of keeping employment and finding employment.

Idea for Blog

The idea for the blog came up when I moved up to Saint Augustine. I decided to move there because my boyfriend just got a permanent job and enjoys his time working for the local museum as the assistant curator. I had some stints in marketing and administrative. The town does have a lot of 'Hiring Now' signs or 'Help Wanted' signs posted throughout the town. The biggest trade skill is the flexibility of the restaurant and commercial success inside the town. If you know your way around a register or a restaurant menu, you're set on employment for life within the city.

I had only one connection to the town, my boyfriend. So we grabbed furniture that could fit in a tiny apartment and then from there, see where employment leads me. But it wasn't fun and games for employment just yet. We had to go to a wedding in California and skiing in Colorado before coming back in March and finding me a job.

Why blog about Florida?

Florida is one of those odd states, it's not part of the south, yet the more north you get, the more southern the state becomes. There are people who move to Florida after they retire, hence why it is largely elderly and the majority of people driving on the roads are between the ages of 60 and 85. There are some families who move to Florida, sometimes for military and other times for economic reasons.

Saint Augustine is a town that has good seasons and bad seasons. Yet the town can successfully sustain itself. It is starting to boom and everything that is being constructed is hopefully done by the time hurricane season starts up again in June. The city has a population of less than 10,000 people annually living in the town. Its biggest seasons are snowbird season (wintertime in Florida) and summertime before August and September. The big attractions in Saint Augustine are the museums, everything from Ripley's to the tour of Flagler College which was once a hotel with a rich history of being a famous site for people to come to Saint Augustine to enjoy the Florida sunshine on holidays.

Keeping in Touch

My family is mostly spread out within three states, but the biggest idea for blogging about this town was to keep in touch with my family on social media. My mom has become a Facebook junkie so she always checks out everything that is posted by her friends or me and my sister. My grandma gets the updates from mom and dad or from my aunt Dona is also just as bad as my mother with all the social media.

I text my family sometimes, but usually when I text, it doesn't get their interest. So doing something with social media and the internet is another way to get a hold of them. Letting them know I am safe and trying to get my life in position for everything else thrown at me is a good place to start.

Blogging Platforms

For anyone interested in checking out my website, I post through WordPress. The link is attached in this article and you can enjoy reading anything at your pleasure. I have also just made a page on Tumblr for anyone to enjoy posting about visiting the Northern portion of Florida or Saint Augustine in general.

social media
Like

About the Creator

Heather Wilkins

Born in South Carolina, raised in Florida. I enjoy writing for therapy or stress release. Enjoy my ramblings or any updates on cities where I live.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.