Wander logo

Big Wave Bay

Hidden Gem in Bustling Hong Kong

By Katie ManningPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
4
Taken on Olympus OM-D - Edited in Lightroom

Away from the neon signs and crowded streets along the coast is where beachgoers and surfers gather.

Hong Kong is pure magic.

Hong Kong is city chaos, a coastal paradise, mountainous monkey jungle, and world-class architecture all intertwined in one fantastic city.

I moved to Hong Kong during my junior year at university to visit our sister campus out East. I had friends that had previously gone to the Hong Kong campus, and they instantly made me want to pick out classes and book a flight. I had a lot of reasons, at the time, to want to run away from my current life in Savannah, and Hong Kong seemed perfectly far away to escape on a new adventure. Now it wasn't quite that simple, and a lot of paperwork before my Hong Kong journey would eventually begin.

Hong Kong was love at first sight.

Growing up in Jersey, I frequently made trips with family and friends to New York and could never understand the appeal. Movies always fantasize about New York, but to me, they are just Hollywood magic. I love the chaos and beauty that come with big cities, but New York always felt aggressive and dirty. Hong Kong always felt the opposite. When she was dirty, she still felt magical. When she was busy, there were ways to maneuver across the street without getting a slammed shoulder from the person crossing the opposite direction. If the city became too much, there was always an MTR ride, followed by a local bus to take me where I wanted to go.

A different view of the same guard tower: Taken on Olympus OM-D - Edited in Lightroom

Big Wave Bay is on the Eastern Coast of Hong Kong and just North of Shek O. One beautiful clear day, I sat on the bus on the way to campus already knowing I had no intention of sitting inside for two and a half hours in a lecture about art history. I hopped off the bus and made the trek down to the MTR. From there I took the Tsuen Line to the Island Line, making my way down to the local bus to take me the rest of the way to Big Way Bay.

After traveling to many Caribbean Islands, surfing in Bali, and visiting coastlines across the world, Big Wave Bay will always have my heart. I remember sitting in the sand, watching the other surfers catch waves. Unprepared for a full beach day, I made my way to the old lifeguard stand and found the most breathtaking view. Looking down from the mountain on the surfers in the water, the entire beach line in sight, with the guard stand perfectly in focus. With a snap of my camera became my favorite picture I have ever taken.

At that moment, any worry slipped away. All the worries I had left behind and went to escape to Hong Kong, for now, seemed so distant.

View from the mountain top: Taken on Olympus OM-D - Edited in Lightroom

It always the small moments you later look back on and realize they were actually big moments standing still in time.

The main top photo from Big Wave Bay reminds me of the biggest adventure of my life. It reminds me of how capable I am, even when I doubt myself, which I often find myself doing. I went across the world and found a new home, and newfound love in myself.

It reminds me that sometimes the most beautiful art is made in the moment. Without thinking, without planning, and just trusting your instinct.

I was able to grow as a person being so self-reliant in a new and far away home. Being in Hong Kong allowed me to gain my lacking self-confidence. I will forever be grateful for my time in Hong Kong. Placing myself in a completely new country where I don't speak the language is always a thrilling adventure. Getting the know the city MTR routes enough to feel like a true local. To trust my gut instinct on exploring the city alone (and to know which street food ventures to avoid). For the first time, I learned that I am truly capable on my own.

asia
4

About the Creator

Katie Manning

Katie is a creative slashie currently residing in Boston with her distinctly adorable pup, Penny.

💬 Keep in touch via:

Email: [email protected]

Website: katiemanning.net

Instagram: @_.katie.manning_.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.