Wander logo

Beginning a Life of Full Time Travel

When staying in one spot for an extended period is not for you.

By Katheryn ComptonPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

Hey, you all—what is up? I know that I have not talked about my personal life a lot lately, but I thought that I would dive right in and share what is going on. Everyone who knows me well enough, knows that I love traveling SO MUCH. I literally could do it nearly every single day if I could, and I would be the happiest woman alive. Which brings me to today’s article topic—traveling full time. So how will I do that? First, I have it set up that I will purchase either a fully loaded RV, or Van transformed into a house, and start traveling all across the United States, Canada, and Mexico. I know I am crazy, right. Well, you only live once, and I want to spend it doing what I feel I am called to do, while still pursuing my passions. I love meeting new people, and experiencing other cultures, so I thought, why not bring my home on the road? I want to start in the western side of the globe first, and then move worldwide and travel.

I do not know if it is the go-getter in me that loves to travel so much, or just the passion of knowing and loving on people I hardly even know that sets my soul on fire. While doing this, I plan to impact people and cultures for a brighter purpose, and shine light into their lives, giving them a renewed hope that Someone is always there for them, and that they always have a Friend that is always listening. Along with exploring nature, I know this will be such a different, yet exciting experience for me, as I have never traveled full time on the road before, living in a van-transformed-home. Giving up common luxuries for this lifestyle is something that I have been doing and cutting back on in the last year and a half that I have lived in Florida—both for budget reasons, and because I intend to live a truly minimalist lifestyle. My intentions were to always travel the United States and this world; it is something that I have had a dream of, even since right after high school. I will share more on this as I dig deeper into the full time RV/Van life, but for now, I really just wanted to get my feet wet, and share the excitement with all you guys!

I have always been the one that has told everyone I met to pursue their dreams, and never be afraid to step out in faith, and just really go for it, no matter what others say or what obstacles may try to come your way and stop you. I have had so many people tell me my lifestyle was weird, and that I am not going anywhere, or that this is not where I am supposed to be. I always tell people to follow their gut instinct, because it will never prove them wrong. There have been many times I have ignored an inner instinct, and ended up in some crazy situations. This is something big, and I believe that when we say yes to our passions, other people are impacted positively. I also believe that, if you say no to your passions, and do not go for them, no matter what excuse you could possibly think of, you will affect people negatively.

People are waiting for you to say yes to whatever it is you are passionate about. What we do now here, in this generation, affects the next one—let us make sure those decisions are positive and not negative.

Even if it is not as crazy as traveling in an RV/Van full time, still go for it. Go for whatever it is that you are passionate about, and I speak to myself as well.

Thank you everyone for reading this article and I hope that you enjoyed it. Until my next adventure, enjoy this little tad bit in my life!

budget travel
Like

About the Creator

Katheryn Compton

💃 || @peninnahcreations & @freedomdancerss || ❤ - Follower of Yeshua. Jewish Roots 🇮🇱 Traveler. Dancer. #FreeLancer. Artistic. Plant Based. 🌱🌴 Lover of life & all things beachy! 😻

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.