Wander logo

Beautiful Dorset

The county that adopted me

By Carol TownendPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
5
Me: At Boscombe Pier, celebrating our anniversary a few years back. June 25th: (Taken by my husband)

My picture was taken at Boscombe sea-front, Dorset, U.K. a few years back. I was enjoying a day out celebrating our wedding anniversary with my wonderful husband.

I guess in a sense, I am really lucky, living in Bournemouth, U.K. because I am surrounded by many different beaches to choose from, and I am quite close to Poole, Dorset, U.K. This means that although I love holiday's, I don't fuss when we can't go away because going to my local sea-fronts and towns in the summer, feels like a holiday anyway. After being stuck in lockdown for so long, and understanding not everybody has the luxury of living at the coast, I have really come to appreciate the beauty of my hometown.

The beaches are very beautiful. I remember the first time we moved here, we stayed in a hotel right on the sea-front, and before we even got here on the train, I told my husband, "I'll move back to Leeds if I don't like it." My husband laughed at me and said, "Once you see Bournemouth and Dorset, you won't want to!"

He was right. I've never looked back and that is way over 10 years ago now. I'm glad I did take the leap to move, because despite a bad past, moving to this beautiful coast changed my life forever. Obviously, it took time to overcome my past and get used to an entirely different way of life, but I'm stronger, happier, independent and confident for it.

Bournemouth UK

By Dami Akinbode on Unsplash

The beach in Bournemouth is usually packed with both tourists and holiday makers alike. However, understandably, the beach hasn't been as full this year due to the pandemic. In ordinary times, some days in summer, you have to practically fight for a spot on the beach, and when walking on the pier, play dodgems with people! Never-the-less, it is still a beautiful place, and I am not phased by the fact we will be holidaying at home this year, with these views not far from my door-step. In fact I am really excited about it, because even though I still have a fear of crowds, it doesn't cause me many problems when I'm on the beach or in the busy town centre of Bournemouth.

Bournemouth is a very happy place to be. My favourite café is called the 'Obscura.' This is a round café in the middle of the town centre. You can sit in our outside this café and enjoy the vibrant and enjoyable atmosphere of the town. It is a place I feel safe and comfortable eating and drinking at, and the food and drinks are amazing. To find out more about this brilliant café (which also sells a variety of good alcohol drinks) visit this link:

https://www.bournemouth.co.uk/food-and-drink/obscura-cafe-p2219033

Another place I love to visit in Bournemouth are the gardens, which are full of streams, nature, things to do, entertainment and a variety of places to eat. The lower gardens runs from Bournemouth pier into town, while the upper gardens are full of nature and pleasant to walk through. Together, they are 3km long with a cycle path running through them called 'The Bourne Valley Green Way. These precious gardens are grade 2 listed gardens.

There are three gardens in Bournemouth itself, Upper, Central and Lower. Most of the pictures featured here were taken by my husband, and they are used with his permission.

A fountain and pond with water lilies sets a beautiful scenic view in the gardens (Taken by my husband)

Me overlooking a stream in the lower gardens (Taken by my husband)

Bournemouth seafront (Taken by my husband)

Beautiful flower showcase in Lower gardens (Taken by my husband)

Amazing sea views - Bournemouth (taken by my husband)

A tree dedicated to 'Diana Princess of Wales' in Upper gardens (Taken by my husband)
Central Gardens: Bournemouth (Taken by my husband)

Hengistbury Head

another place I love and will be visiting is Hengistbury Head, which isn't far from Bournemouth at all. Again, it has a lovely beach, though a little smaller than Bournemouth beach. However you can walk here for miles, and enjoy the views and wonderful countryside that come with it. Nature is a wonderful thing, and Hengistbury Head certainly knows how to play with Scenery.

Beautiful scenic view of Hengistbury Head. Where nature thrives: (Taken by my husband)

A view from Hengistbury Head, Dorset (Taken by my husband)

Weymouth

Weymouth is another coastal area in Dorset that is not too far from where I live. Weymouth is a really beautiful coastal town, and there are many things to do from shopping, fun-fair rides, theatre, to just enjoying the lovely beach. The sea on a really sunny day turns a beautiful blue, and the town itself is very historical to visit. Weymouth is my 'get out of town' place for when I want to be by the sea, but somewhere a little less busy.

Weymouth Seafront (Taken by my husband)

Weymouth Beach: (Taken by my husband)
Weymouth Harbour (Taken by myself)

Weymouth, Dorset, U.K. (Taken by myself)

A gorgeaus view of the sea: Weymouth (Taken by myself)

Lulworth Cove

Lulworth Cove is a breath-taking Dorset beauty-spot. You can walk from here, to the famous Durdle-Door , which is approximately 1.5 miles, however this varies with the route you take. Lulworth Cove has some breath-taking and scenic views, and is a very popular choice in Dorset.

Beautiful scenic views: (Taken by myself)

Stunning sea-views (taken by my husband)

By Craig Smith on Unsplash

By Duncan Sparks on Unsplash

Poole Quay

This is somewhere I spend a lot of time when I am in need of peace. Poole quay is a good place to be if you love boats, cafes and pubs. It is only a quick walk from Poole town centre and if you love scenery, its a brilliant place to be. The best thing I love about Poole quay is when I walk by the quay, I can smell the fish and the seaweed! After all, the good thing about the coast is the smells that go with it that remind you you are by the sea!

Boats at Poole Quay: I love seeing boats here! (Taken by my husband)

A wrecked Boat at Poole quay, with a view of the famous Brownsea Island: (Taken by my husband)

The Tow path and the 'Quay' in the distance., and someone couldn't decide which way round their boat should stand! (Taken by my husband)

Old Poole Quay: I love the rocks here because they paint the history of the Quay. I also like to sit here when I feel down: (Taken by my husband)

The slip bay where the boats are launched at Poole Quay: (Taken by my husband)

Upton Country

Upton Country Park is a place where I spent a lot of time healing from my mental health problems in the past. This is a beautiful country-side park and has some lovely walks. It is a place not to be under-estimated, and somewhere I deeply cherish for its nature and scenery.

A beautiful view of Upton House: (Taken by my husband)

Where there is Nature, there is always beauty: A nature trail we love walking through at Upton Country Park: (Taken by my husband)

Full of trees: The trees at Upton Country Park are my favourite mental health therapy: (Taken by my husband)

It is always a great day out at Upton Country Park: (Taken by my husband)

Kinson Common

Kinson Common is approximately a 5 minute walk from where I live. It is my 'go to' place for days when I am down and don't want to travel far. I walk through this beautiful common often, as it really uplifts me when I need it, and it is a peaceful walk:

There is amazing open spaces in Kinson Common: (Taken by my husband)

This man-made water feature is my favourite feature in Kinson Common: (Taken by my husband)

A part of Kinson Common: I go here on days that make me feel like screaming. It helps to reduce the noise of every-day life. (Taken by my husband)

Conclusion:

When I first moved to Dorset, I felt lost because I had literally left all my family and the few friends I had back in Leeds. However, before moving here, I was haunted by a severely traumatising past which meant I couldn't build a 'life worth living' in the city I was born in.

When I first moved, some of that trauma followed me. However, my journey to well-being made me realize that sometimes, in order to heal, we have to leave the cause of trauma behind and be willing to start from scratch. This can be very difficult, and I had a lot of help and support for a few years after my move in order to do this.

In my present, I live a life of exploration, and I am really comfortable with nature the gift of nature that living in Dorset provided me with. I have more resources such as open space, the sea, interesting places to visit which keep me turning all that pain into a power I never had before.

I love where I live now, and I wouldn't live anywhere but here.

If you loved this article, please let me know by leaving a heart. Tips are optional but very welcomed as they enable me to keep going on my journey of writing and discovery, which is a healing tool in my journey.

You might also like to read another article of mine, which was created after I discovered that Nature has the power to heal the mind. You can do so by clicking the link below:

https://vocal.media/longevity/mindfulness-in-nature

Also do you like walking? Walking has a lot of benefits for both physical and mental health. You can read this by clicking this link:

https://vocal.media/psyche/walk-to-maintain-your-mental-and-physical-health

travel lists
5

About the Creator

Carol Townend

Fiction, Horror, Sex, Love, Mental Health, Children's fiction and more. You'll find many stories in my profile. I don't believe in sticking with one Niche! I write, but I also read a lot too.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.