Wander logo

Beach Haven

From a visit to my home

By Ruby Estelle Published 3 years ago 7 min read
1
Seacoast Drive With Tijuana Mexico In plain sight

What started as a visit with some old friends a long time ago, became a place I would later call home. Little to my knowledge I would be calling the town I ventured to my residence. With many places I have yet had the opportunity of seeing, and many things I have not had the chance, time or opportunity of doing. The beautiful town of Imperial Beach in San Diego California has become my home. Growing up in the Land of 10,000 lakes with ice cold winters I had always wanted to live on the beach where I could swim and surf everyday and the water was warm. Although the water is cold, and I don't have the time for swimming and surfing in the waters and don't have a surfboard, I live within a mile. With my time spoken for and a lot of things I would rather be doing, the blissful waves, friendly faces, and quiet town has still grown on me quickly.

Wildlife Refuge across the street from the beach with Tijuana in the distance

There is a wild life refuge across the street from the beach, with the border of Tijuana Mexico miles in the distance near a helicopter base. The Sports Park Recreation Center filled with kids, and the beach with different faces of wandering people some of the things I've seen when I have walked around. Though I have never got a picture, the shore of Coronado spells Coronado in the ground and the sand is much softer. With volleyball nets for games I wish that I could be playing in being that it is, like tennis, one of my favorite sports that I never have the chance to play. Without the transportation and busy days I can only day dream about some of the things that would make a place I have come to call home more ideal.

Beach Waves and Islands

Yet there is what I have seen and experienced! The beautiful hike trail by the wildlife refuge and the ability of seeing another country I have never been to so close. The beach haven has become my home, yet I still miss where I came from, and realize I still have so many other places I have yet to go along with places to go back to. Here I can run after birds on the beach so I can take pictures of them in midair, while I see happy couples, families, and surfers going on their way. Whatever it is that they are up to, sometimes I wonder, are they just visitors passing through like I once was? Or do they have a place that they call home here too? Some of the people passing through, you can tell because they just have an RV, like I wish I had so I could travel the country, and they will be on their way when they chose a different place they'd like to stay.

More Waves and a Bird

The beautiful waters, the crashing waves, even on the chilly days, it is a beautiful place with a hint for sweet escapes up in the air. Some of the pictures I've captured within the time I've been here, some not fully grasping the bigger picture of everything there is to see around. As there is much more than I have even seen myself, but it is the little things and the beach. That makes it a beach haven for anyone passing through. It is filled with diversity, and when you can see the birds in the wildlife refuge that people fought for it to stay.

Sidewalk Views and Nomad Campers

An RV camper that has been here ever since the first time that I visited before I came here again and wound up living near. This is a shot from the sidewalk on the way back home from the ocean side front walking away from them closest piece of land near the border of Mexico.

From the Pierre to the street down a ways is home

The IB Forum restaurant I have never been to next to the beach front. Someone on their motorcycle. Straight through the stop sign and some way to go is where I made my home. With the palm trees and wild life, the people and the homes. Many different faces, strangers, and cars all around. A quiet little town. Usually bustling with many people walking their dogs, taking their surfboard, going on bike rides, jogs, walks and breaks.

People on the beach, paradise beach homes.

The houses along the coast line that can see the beach from their backyard. Though it is chilly at night it is the most beautiful sound when there is nothing but the sound of waves crashing all around. The people on their way walking with their dog. The beach filled with shells for collecting, once in a while you'll find a sand dollar if you're lucky, and many rocks, sea weed and birds along the way.

A sunny days view from the sand

Another beautiful view on a sunshine filled day. The trails through the sand of the marine safety beach guards. This picture was took walking back from by the pier. All of the footprints in the sand from birds animals, and of course people and children. I wish that I could horse back ride down the beach and then there would be horseshoe prints.

The Pier where people fish, and a restaurant

A view of the Pier where many people catch their fish either for the restaurant, themselves, or the other restaurants. Sometimes at night people will surf by the Pier when there is no one fishing. A great place for taking a walk with a dog, friend, or family. If I had a dog I would take them for a walk up by where people dine outside.

Marmalade Sunsets

This is a picture from a video I took on snapchat capturing the beauty of the ocean sunset. A beautiful marmalade color for a serene evening view. Though this picture does not do justice how astounding the beauty really is, but it gives you a good idea of how pretty it is. Calming for a stressed mind even though it is chillier this time of year.

Sun breaking through the clouds in the backyard

The simple yet beautiful view from the backyard because I couldn't catch the sunset at the beach. It had been raining a couple of days before and the sun breaking through the clouds was a sight to see.

Patriotism on the sidewalk

Random paintings of many on the curb. Patriotism of the Imperial Beach. Little pieces of peoples art to see walking past right under our feet. This was by an alley way. There's many houses that have art painted in the house number on the curb.

Bird flying with sun rays bursting through the clouds

Walking along the coast watching the blissful waves. The bursts through the clouds and he is flying on his way. Makes me wonder what looks like beyond the distance on the other side of the water.

Art on the wall

Paintings on the wall of the gift store called Bibbys Treasure Shop. The whole building is painted on both sides. Creative pieces of art from cartoons and random scenes that people can pick apart if they have ever seen them before.

Birds flying in different directions in the wildlife refuge

A glimps of the wildlife that flies back and forth in the refuge. This is a piece of land that is between two neighborhoods one of them being across the street from the ocean front and those houses. A very surreal and peaceful walking and biking trail goes along the way. The sidewalk has bird names and pictures of their wings in real life dimension with the actual size beside written in the stone.

Window Pictures Catching some air

Behind me the wild life refuge and the hills of Tijuana Mexico. Here I had stopped at a random vehicle so I could capture the moment.

View from the sand on Seacoast Drive

Standing on the sand with the ocean at my right and Tijuana Mexico at my left behind me.

Alley Ways

Found this walking back home one day. A beautiful over growth on an alley wall.

Mountain Trail

A cloudy view on the mountain trail where I found is a great place for hiking.

California Republic and United states flag by the police station. These are a few of the things that you can see within a couple of miles where I live. The town of Imperial Beach with much more to do and much more to see, with ocean views and neighborhoods that are so pretty.

photography
1

About the Creator

Ruby Estelle

Im Kezia, Family oriented & fun, loving, nature, people, music & animal lover. photographer, writer, cook, artist, lover & creator! I aspire world venture, vlogging, making a foundation, having a positive impact & inspiring you💕

🙏🌍🌏🌎☮️

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.