Wander logo

Bali to East Java

My experience on a bus ride to Gilmanuk

By Woody DeJongPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
Mount Bromo East Java

Well where to from Bali. These days most tourists take a flight to Surabaya then bus it to Yogyakarta and beyond. But many miss the splendor that is East Java. I am a little bias in saying that, as I was born and raised in Surabaya the capital of East Java. East Java is a little drier than the rest of Java. But that does not mean that the terrain is devoid of splendid beauty. There are magnificent National Parks. Indonesia's only Safari park. Pure white sand beaches and crystal blue seas, calling, “come in for a swim”.

There are small outcrops of coral reef along the coast and you can often see 'In the Know' western divers there. Apart from that there is often not a tourist is sight, which is in my case coming from Bali is a blessing. I recall one of my many trips from Denpasar Bali to Banyuwangi East Java. I remember this trip in particular very well as it was my most memorable. I had made the trip several times before. But it was often with my uncle who was a government official in Denpasar. He would take me in his Toyota Land cruiser to Gillmanuk to catch the ferry to Java. A much safer ride than the infamous bus trips.

In the early days one took a very rickety bus from DenPasar to Gillmanuk. Then a ferry ride across the Bali Strait to Banyuwangi on the tip of East Java. Nowadays it is usually only the locals that travel by bus. Most tourists take a cheap internal flight from Denpasar to Surabaya. The Capital of East Java.

Anyway back to my story. I took a Bemo from my Uncles home in Denpasar to the bus terminal. There among the chaos I managed to find a bus heading to Gillmanuk. Starting out the bus was not very full. But that soon changed. As every few minutes the bus would stop and pick up more passengers. This time families boarded with all the kids, the ducks, chickens and luggage. All somehow squeezing into the few seats available. They stood in the aisles and cramming everything they could under the seats. Also up in the lockers between their bags and my backpack. Luckily I had a seat.

The bus soon was well on the way to our first major stop which was Tabaran. The whole trip was a cacophony of the constant blasting of the horn from the bus driver. The squawking ducks and chickens, crying kids and swearing in Bahasa Indonesian. there was also swearing in Balinese and Javanese. The bus driver doing most of the swearing, in Balinese of course.

The woman that sat next to me was Javanese and she had a teenage daughter sitting squashed up next to her. They began speaking in Javanese to each other. The daughter remarked that I was quite handsome. Neither had the slightest idea that I spoke and understood Javanese. So they continued in their conversation oblivious to that fact. They mentioned me a few times in their conversation and it was to say the least a little embarrassing. Finally arriving at Tabaran. The woman and her daughter were disembarking. I too was getting off for a rest and a drink. As the woman and her daughter were leaving the daughter tried her English on me and said. “I hope you have a nice holiday”. I replied “Matur nuwun menika sae patemon panjenengan” which is high Javanese for "It was nice meeting you". Well you have never seen two females blush so red as these two did. They were on their way so fast that they almost forgot the ducks and chickens. In hindsight it was not a good thing to do, but I just could not help my self. I think in future they would be very cautious as what they say would say about someone. Still I will never forget the look on their faces, it always brings a smile to my face every time I think about it.

Soon we were on our way again, with brief stops at Medewi beach, Negara we finally arrived at Gillmanuk. From Gillmanuk it was a ferry trip across the Bali Strait, not for the faint hearted that is for sure. But if you lasted the bus ride from DenPasar then the Ferry trip was not so bad. The actual trip took only 45 minutes to 1 hour yet it was the unloading and boarding that took quite a long time. Watching the kids on the Ferry park the buses, trucks and cars was like watching parking geniuses at work. Kids of 12 to 15 would take control of the vehicles. (Sometimes from very reluctant owners). They would reverse and forward the vehicles until they parked them so close to each other you could not place a cigarette paper between them. Then they would crawl out thru the windows and move on to the next vehicle, pure majesty. At last the journey ended and we arrived at Ketapang Terminal, from there it is a brief road trip to Banyuwangi. East Java well that is another story.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Woody DeJong

My name is Glenn Woody deJong I am of Dutch-Indonesian genealogy. Born in SuraBaya. I have traveled to many countries in my youth and experienced many things. I am a Qualified Chef, Amateur writer and devoted husband to my wife Inda,

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.