Wander logo

Ancestral Voyage.

Traversing through the areas my ancestors graced.

By S. L. YarbroughPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
4
Ancestral Voyage.
Photo by Kyriacos Georgiou on Unsplash

A year ago, I developed pain, warmth, and swelling in my right arm after a heart cath. For 3 days I attempted to treat the pain with a cool compress and pain medication. I figured it was just pain from the heart cath. I had them before, never through the artery in my wrist. I didn’t want to miss my granddaughter's 1st birthday party so planned on contacting my doctor the next day if it didn’t get better. During the party, my arm began to swell even more and turn red. My mother-in-law advised me to go have it checked just to make sure nothing was wrong. When I arrived at the Emergency room the nurse told me it looked like I had a blood clot. An ultrasound was performed on my arm and my artery was blocked from my wrist to my shoulder. One more day and I may not be here, writing this story about where I would go on a Solo trip. Before my hospitalization my answer would have been Walt Disney World in Florida which had been a dream of mine. But my daughter and son-in-law made that dream a reality. After the close call they didn’t want me to wait to fulfill my dream. After 47 years I finally got to see Disney World and meet Mickey Mouse.

Five years ago, I sent in my DNA test to Family Tree DNA and 23 and Me. Both companies confirmed what I was told my ancestry was. African, Native American, and Scottish. There were some surprises such as Chinese, Thai, Scandinavian, Middle Eastern, and Indian. According to Family Tree DNA my Maternal DNA originates from Morocco. If I were to go on a Solo trip it would be to visit some of the countries my ancestors were from. My first stop would be Morocco in the city of Chefchaouen at the Casa Sabila.

Casa Sabila room photo courtesy of Trip Advisor.

Casa Sabila is one of the premier hotels. It offers a roof top terrace where I can sit and reflect as I look at the Mountaintop views. I would be in walking distance to restaurants and attractions.

Roof top Terrace

The city of Chefchaouen sits nestled in the mountains and is known for its blue buildings which appear to illuminate the mountains. The city was built to provide defense against the Portuguese in 1471. The area is rich in culture and natural beauty. The places I would visit are the Kasbah Museum of Chefchaouen, Talassentane National Park, the waterfalls of Akchour, God's bridge, Kef Toghobeit which is the deepest cave in Morocco and the third deepest in Africa, and then a day trip to see Tangier.

Ackhour's waterfalls

While there I would make sure to partake in authentic Moroccan food as well as Mediterranean.

Restaurante El Jaleo photo courtesy of Trip Advisor

Restaurante El Jaleo has five-star ratings from travelers. They specialize in healthy Moroccan and Mediterranean dishes.

Once I spent a week in Morocco I would continue my journey to Scotland.

By Crawford Jolly on Unsplash

One of my favorite films is Braveheart. I have always wanted to visit the Highlands of Scotland. I was fascinated by stories of the Loch Ness monster. My grandfather used to make corned beef and cabbage which I loved but no one else in the family did. I now make it for my family and it is a tradition to have New Year's Day. I always figured my reddish-brown hair, hazel green-brown eyes and freckles came from the Scottish roots. To be able to see the lush green hills and castles would be a dream.

Of course, I would rent a room in a castle for lodging. My choice would be Inverlochy Castle Hotel. Inverlochy is one of the luxury castle hotels situated on a loch. A chef prepares authentic British cuisine daily, the guest rooms are elegantly designed and offer modern conveniences such as private bathroom, tv, cd player, with dvd player and sony playstation available. Recreational activities offered are tennis, fishing, clay pigeon shooting, or attending a high tea. Close to Inverlochy Castle is Fort William’s town centre, West Highland Museum, Steall Waterfall. I would go to each one.

Inverlochy Castle

Inverlochy Castle room

I would spend two weeks in Scotland. While there I would visit the Inverness Castle and see where the Loch Ness monster was sighted. Inverness is 1.5 hours from Inverlochy Castle. After a week at Inverlochy Castle, I would travel to Aberdeenshire to see the Highland games and tour the castles there.

Inverness Highland Games

The Highland games are held in the spring and summer across Scotland and anywhere there are large populations of Scottish people. At the Highland games you can experience Highland dance, music, competitions in stamina, speed, and strength. While I am in Aberdeen, I would make sure to visit Miller and Carter Steakhouse. The reviews are four and a half stars, and the menu looks delicious.

Miller and Carter Steakhouse.

I have always been proud of my heritage. All facets of my ancestry intrigue me. Every portion makes the whole and I embrace them all. One day I would love to take a year and travel to every country listed in my DNA. I know being able to walk the areas my ancestors may have lived would give me peace and a feeling of wholeness.

solo travel
4

About the Creator

S. L. Yarbrough

S. L. Yarbrough recently published the narrative non-fiction Psychology of....Series. Using her Master's degree in Applied Behavioral Science she analyzes iconic fictional characters, in vol. I she covers Horror Villains.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.