Wander logo

American women are upset that men are choosing to go overseas to find wives; the story of Passport Bros.

Creating drama along the way.

By sara burdickPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
American women are upset that men are choosing to go overseas to find wives; the story of Passport Bros.
Photo by Nicole Geri on Unsplash

It might be the first time you hear the Passport Bros, yet maybe not. Maybe you dream of becoming a passport bro. I had a boyfriend overseas in Colombia for a long time. Does that make me a passport gal?

To be more specific, passport bros are men in first worlds that are seeking out women from 3rd world countries who are more ¨domesticated¨, ¨traditional¨and ¨feminine¨.

Yet this statement alone has women lashing out on social media. Even Late Kevin Samuels warned women, specifically black women, that more black men would seek women in other cultures if they did not treat their men better.

The passport bros movement began with black men seeking women in other countries; Samuels stated that white women are not your competition. It is Latina. I can attest Latinas are different from those in the US, and Latin men are notoriously known for cheating, especially in Latin America.

So if they see someone from another culture who will take care of them, are they going to take care of their man, yes. Wouldn't you?

Also, this movement is familiar, except there is a new name; before, it was mail order bride, and now it's Passport Bros; either way, let's let people live how they choose.

However, there is a name for the white men who go seeking women in other countries too, they are passport jo's, yet you don't see a big uproar on social media about the passports jo's; it is specifically targeted at black men and women.

Some women have taken to TikTok telling women that if a man mentions passport bros or Kevin Samuels, it is a red flag. I mean, is everything a red flag these days?

I think Kevin Samuels makes some valid points. However, most women you see online are complaining about men; if I were a man, I would apply for my passport and leave as fast as possible.

Wait, I did, it can go both ways.

Many speculate that the Passport Bros movement is a backlash to the heavily anti-feminist culture in the US and men going their way in response to it. Can you blame them?

However, there is a part to the passport bros where they are targeting black women and telling them how awful they are, that I do not agree with.

I don't think putting either side down is the answer, if you choose to leave the US and date do it that is all. I think some of what stirs up the comments and videos is because of the downright disrespect on both sides.

When I travel and date I do not spew hate onto others, I live my life. So if you choose to become a passport bro, do it, and be happy.

I think they are poking the bear and trying to stir up trouble, with all the videos and TikTok, of course for clicks, views, and the all-mighty dollar.

As a female, I want nothing to do with the feminist culture in the US, and if I were a man, I would do the same thing; we have gone too far.

We in the US have taken the pendulum and stuck it to one side, and there seems to be no middle ground. Yet make your moves in silence, you will find your life is more peaceful this way.

However, when you go into the comments section of these videos of men talking about what they want in a relationship, the comments are where you see pure anger from all sides.

Why can't we just let people do what they want? What makes them happy?

travel advice
Like

About the Creator

sara burdick

I quit the rat race after working as a nurse for 16 years. I now write online and live abroad, currently Nomading, as I search for my forever home. Personal Stories, Travel and History

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.