Wander logo

Advice from a Travel Professional for a Smooth Vacation

Seriously

By Lawrence Edward HincheePublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
Charles Bridge Prague, Czech Republic

So you have booked your dream vacation and have packed your bags. Now it is the day of your travel, let's look at what you can do to make your vacation a smooth travel journey.

Let's look at arrival time. Arrive at the airport at least two hours prior to departure, three hours for international departures. When you arrive to expedite the check-in process please have your identification and payment for your bag fees out and available for your agent. If you have checked in online and are not checking bags, then you can bypass the check-in counter and proceed directly to the gate.

Let's look at some of the fares out there. The basic economy fare while cheap is also the most restrictive. You aren't allowed to select your seats, a family usually can't sit together. Carry-on bags aren't allowed, which means you will have to check it. While on the topic of bags, when you arrive at the airport, please ensure you have removed all old bag tags and stickers from your bags. It makes it easier on us agents.

Lost luggage happens and we sympathize with you but there is nothing we can really do other than take a claim. So this is my suggestion. If your son or daughter is on a college recruiting trip and has to have their uniforms, place them into their carry-on bags instead of checked luggage. I travel frequently and I don't even take my medication in my carry-on bag in case I have to check it. I mail my medications ahead of me, please don't check your medications under any circumstances.

Emergency exit rows are nice but if you are traveling with children, are under the age fifteen, or handicapped, then you can't sit there.

Maintenance and weather issues happen. We will be happy to help you re-book your travel; however, please don't have us changing your flights continuously every time there is an update to a later departure time.

Passports and visas, please ensure you have all required travel documents out and ready for your agent as he or she will be asking for them. As for passports, please make sure they are in good shape; in other words, don't bring them in looking like they went through the washing machine because your dream trip to Hong Kong will not be happening.

I am going to tell this story, make sure your passports are current and haven't expired. I had a couple come to me when I worked for an airline in Denver. She was holding a dress about six inches off the ground. They said their destination was Cancun. I scanned both passports and received an error message, so I tried again and received the same message. I asked them what they were going to be doing in Cancun, then they said getting married. I asked when and they said tomorrow. I started laughing because I couldn't help it. Their passports had expired; I said, "Well, you aren't getting married, not tomorrow any way, because your passports are expired." To say that the wedding party with them was pissed was an understatement because they all took off for nothing. I tell this to make the point, check your expiration date.

While on the subject of passports, the passport cards, the plastic ones, aren't valid for air travel internationally. I have one and use it as another form of identification, but also carry it in lieu of my passport book when traveling internationally.

If you follow these travel tips then you will have almost a hassle free travel experience.

travel advice
1

About the Creator

Lawrence Edward Hinchee

I am a new author. I wrote my memoir Silent Cries and it is available on Amazon.com. I am new to writing and most of my writing has been for academia. I possess an MBA from Regis University in Denver, CO. I reside in Roanoke, VA.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.