Wander logo

Accept You are in the Right Place and Other Habits to be a Happier Traveller

The habits listed here are life-changing, regardless if you are travelling or chilling at home

By Gladys Carmina Published 2 years ago 6 min read
Like
Accept You are in the Right Place and Other Habits to be a Happier Traveller
Photo by Timur Romanov on Unsplash

Travelling will give you a broad panorama of the world you live in. You may get immersed in different cultures and get to know how life works on the other side of the world.

Travelling is indeed an uncertain experience, you never know what is coming next. Unless you pay for an all-inclusive resort. Solo travelling gives you a wide perspective of your soul because it will push you off to the limits.

Living a series of uncomfortable situations will make you develop game-changing habits. Whereas you are travelling or not, you will have the habit of letting go and let it flow. As well as having mental peace by acknowledging that you are here, right where you are supposed to be.

The habits listed here are life-changing, which I put into practice in my daily life, regardless if I am travelling or chillin’ at home.

#1 Have fun with yourself and enjoy your me-time

Being comfortable with your personality is a habit you will acquire while experiencing uncomfortable situations. Let’s start with going to the movies, to a restaurant or a bar on your own.

The first time I travelled alone was when I sat my ass on a bus to Chiapas. It was a 10-hour ride from my hometown. I felt so lonely, as a few days prior, I ended my relationship.

After having a part-time lover and a full-time friend for four years, I felt so lonely on that bus. Apparently, I didn’t have anyone to tell how the trip was going.

Travelling alone doesn’t mean loneliness. You travelling with yourself but there is a team of cheerleaders behind you. Your family, your friends, and your community will always be pleased to hear from you and your wild stories.

Recently, a friend of mine was about to experience solo travelling for a few days. She was worried about being on her own. She was afraid of what others will think about her. When she told me this, I replied:

“Dude, everybody is busy trying to survive living wild travel experiences. No one will even notice you.

Travelling on your own is a tremendous achievement when it comes to exploring the depths of yourself. This is an opportunity to get to know yourself in unconventional scenarios. And build the habit of embrace your singular personality. Once you learn how to be comfortable with yourself, you will not have any boring moments. You are your best company, always.

By Marina Vitale on Unsplash

#2 Trust in your instinct, your inner voice, and your feelings. Stay loyal to yourself.

In a past article, I mentioned that Couchsurfing is an experience not everybody is ready to experience. Some reasons for that statement are related to self-confidence.

Travelling on your own will prove how much trust you put in your instincts to keep yourself alive under circumstances.

Listening and validating your feelings is a habit you surely need to implement. When travelling you never know if there is going to be a second chance to make it right.

Learning to blindly trust your feelings is one of the most valuable personal growth habits you can acquire from travelling on your own.

You will be in charge of your safety and it is your responsibility to run away whenever your safety may be in danger.

When travelling abroad, identifying if something is wrong or right may be difficult because of cultural shock.

The rules are easy:

If it doesn’t feel right to you and your core, it may be better to take a step back.

Trusting your feelings and maintain loyal to them is the habit that will undoubtedly make you a happier person.

#3 Observe the one beside you. Observe deep inside yourself. Be aware of what is happening around you.

When I went on a EuroTrip I asked for a ride in Paris from the Orly and Beauvais to the Charles de Gaulle airport. When a man stopped by and accepted to take my friend and me to a close train station, we were so grateful and had a relaxing drive.

However, I never stopped looking to the front. I tried to memorize the signs, the local shops, gas stations and any other pointer which could be helpful to orientate myself. Just in case anything went out wrong.

Being aware of what is happening around you has nothing to do with being paranoid. But this habit may help you to avoid terrible scenarios. Or at least to be prepared to overcome them.

On the other hand, observing what is around you will make you a happier person. Sometimes you are living in an automatic pilot, missing to appreciate what you are experiencing.

Be a happier person by contemplating with your senses and total attention what you are living.

#4 Let go, let flow and don’t regret

It doesn’t matter if you read the complete guide about the place you are visiting, life is unpredictable. Especially when you are travelling and you don’t know the culture, the language and the mapping.

It could get harder to let go and to flow while travelling because you know you don’t have unlimited time to explore.

This is one of my travel lifetime Mexican mantras I remind myself of every time I am about to complain: “Pero lo bailado nadie me lo quita”.

This means that: It doesn’t matter if I screw it up, I danced enough and nobody can steal from me that amazing experience.

Not only when travelling but in real life, you’re supposed to learn from every experience. Having the habit of embracing your failures and the lessons behind them will surely give your mind some peace.

By Colton Duke on Unsplash

#5 Acknowledge that you are right here where you should be and not anywhere else

This point complements the previous one.

Think about the ongoing pandemic. A lot of flights, experiences and family and friends meetings got cancelled.

Travellers may feel frustration and anger when an event happens and plans drastically change.

Repeat after me:

I am here. I am right where I am supposed to be. I shouldn’t be anywhere else.

You can’t do anything to speed up the process and change your situation. The best you can do is to relax and let it flow.

This timing, the timing you are living is just perfect.

If you miss the bus, the flight or if your trip got cancelled, there is a reason behind it. Perhaps you can’t figure out which is the reason but within time you will learn it.

Having the habit to remind you that you are in the perfect timing and place will make your soul and mind have some peace. Get frustration out of your mind by having the habit to acknowledge you are here and here is your place. I always remember the survivors of 9/11. Some of them missed their cab or the metro.

Want to write about your travel experiences? Join the writing journey to learn how to achieve amazing stories that your audience wants to read. If you enjoyed reading this article, subscribe to Vocal Media using my link. It offers you reading unlimited stories while supporting new writers like me. Thanks for reading!

travel advice
Like

About the Creator

Gladys Carmina

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.