Wander logo

A Trip to Maui

With family and friends

By Leslie WritesPublished 19 days ago Updated 12 days ago 4 min read
A Trip to Maui
Photo by Pascal Debrunner on Unsplash

When I was a kid, we never went on a real vacation. What I mean is we never went to an exciting place with the sole purpose of unwinding and having fun. Sure, we took little one- or two-day trips to amusement parks all within driving distance. That’s alright, but we never made it to Disney World or anywhere tropical. I suppose it was because for the first eight years I was an only child and money was an issue. Then once my brother was born, it was just a hassle to wrangle two kids.

I should probably mention that we visited family on the Jersey shore almost every summer. But I’ve found that people that live at the beach don’t necessarily love going to the beach. I never ever saw Nana or Pop-Pop hit the beach, only the boardwalk on occasion. The boardwalk is great, but the beaches on the east coast are not ideal. It’s cold. The water is choppy, cloudy, kinda smelly, and there’s litter in the sand.

Then one day out of the blue, my husband asked me if I wanted to go to Hawaii (specifically Maui) for his friend’s 40th birthday. That was not something I ever thought I’d hear. I was confused, nervous, and excited. It was not as expensive as we’d expected, and our friend graciously offered to pay for our lodging.

We bought our plane tickets and started planning. Our family of three would be joining our friend, his parents, his sister, her friend and her two kids. We rented two big cars to get around the island and plans started taking shape.

What we did:

  • Took the 'Road to Hana'
  • Fishing (caught a 🐠 and ate it!)
  • Day trip to Lanai
  • Birthday Luau
  • Snorkeling in Molokini crater
  • Maui Aquarium

Highlights, mishaps, and funny moments:

With a stroke of beginner’s luck, my daughter caught a fish while bottom fishing off the coast of Molokini crater. After catching a few smaller trigger fish which had to be thrown back, we caught a yellow fish with blue stripes about the size of a cell phone. A crew member identified our catch, a blue line snapper, which is both an invasive species and good eats! We took it home and our friends showed us how to fry it up in some with butter with breadcrumbs. It was light and tasty!

We stopped at a local fruit vendor along the road to Hana where we bought a bunch of apple bananas and a bag of lychees. My daughter proceeded to eat the whole bag in about a minute flat. The road to Hana is notoriously curvy (620 curves to be exact) and steep. Not great for those with motion sickness or those who inhale a pound of new exotic fruit…I managed to get the plastic bag under her just in time 🤮

The next day was the Luau. We all came home exhausted, a few of us still half drunk. But when we got home, the electronic keypad on the door wouldn’t work. Apparently, the thing ran out of batteries. We called the owner, but she lived on the mainland, employing the services of a local to handle any lockouts, etc.

Making the most of our time while waiting for the owner to text back, we laid out on the grass stargazing. Then the sprinklers came on. Recalling the signs we saw earlier; my daughter reminded us that the sprinklers here used dirty (reclaimed) water. We all got up in a hurry.

The next day, on board the Calypso, our ride to Molokini crater for Snorkeling, the ship’s captain issued a warning to all who use the marine head (toilet) to dispose of their toilet paper in the wastebasket. Toilet paper clogs the pipes and clogged pipes would mean canceling the trip.

I meant to comply, of course, but I am usually on autopilot when I do my business. Mistakes happen. I did what I had to do. A normal person would have just asked for some soap, but here is what I said to the crew:

“Hi, I’m gonna be real with you. I forgot about the toilet paper rule. Then I remembered. I scooped out the evidence with my bare hand. Then I realized you are out of soap in there. Can I have some soap?” 🫤

Things I’ll miss about Maui:

  • P.O.G. (pineapple, orange, and guava juice blend) on tap in every restaurant
  • Feral chickens and their chicks just vibing around shops and parking lots
  • Geckos 🦎
  • Hawaiian Shave (not shaved) Ice
  • The scent of fresh Plumeria (not that Bath and Body Works crap)
  • The macaroni salad (OMG)
  • Perfect weather all day everyday

Things I won’t miss about Maui:

  • Vigilant sunscreen application on my delicate Irish legs that have never seen the light of day. My husband describes me as “a goth beach babe in a Tim Burton film.”
  • Getting sunburn in spite of all the sunscreen 🥵
  • The 14-hour flight from DC

Things to remember if visiting Maui:

  • Always choose a reef safe mineral sunscreen when swimming in the ocean. This is to protect the coral.
  • And this statement from the Hawaii Tourism Authority

While some fire-affected areas remain closed to the public, visitation continues to be welcomed and encouraged throughout Maui and the islands of Kauaʻi, Oʻahu, Lānaʻi, Molokaʻi and Hawaiʻi Island. Visitors throughout the Hawaiian Islands are urged to be especially mindful and respectful in our island home.

    family travelamerica

    About the Creator

    Leslie Writes

    Another struggling millennial. Writing is my creative outlet and stress reliever.

    Enjoyed the story?
    Support the Creator.

    Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

    Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

    Reader insights

    Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

    How does it work?

    Add your insights

    Comments (5)

    • Iris Harris18 days ago

      Goth on the beach! LOL! I loved that line. You can have the perfect weather almost everyday. As someone living here, it’s not vibing with my creativity. I need off the island and back into some gloom doom weather to spark my writing. LOL. I’m glad you enjoyed it though (and yes, that road to Hana is notorious).

    • Oh, a wonderful traveling experience. Play with ice is just wow!

    • Omggggg, you scooped it up with your bare handddddd!!! Please tell me the crew gave you soap. What is Hawaiian Shave Ice if it's not shaved ice?

    • Dawnxisoul393art19 days ago

      Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with such honesty and humor. It's delightful to hear about your unexpected trip to Maui and the mix of confusion, nerves, and excitement it brought. Sometimes, life surprises us in the most unexpected ways, and it's wonderful that your husband's friend's birthday celebration opened the door to an adventure you never thought you'd have. The little mishaps you encountered along the way, like the sprinklers and the toilet paper incident, added a touch of comedic charm to your story. It's these unexpected moments that often become the most memorable and cherished in hindsight. Your willingness to laugh at yourself and share these amusing anecdotes is truly endearing. Travel experiences can be unpredictable, and it's these small, human moments that remind us of the imperfections and surprises that make life interesting. Despite the challenges, we hope your trip to Maui provided you and your family with beautiful memories, breathtaking sights, and the opportunity to relax and enjoy a tropical paradise. Thank you for sharing your lighthearted and relatable vacation tale—it brought a smile to our faces! Have a wonderful weekend!

    • Babs Iverson19 days ago

      Aloha, Leslie.loved traveling along!!! Mahalo!!!❤️❤️💕

    Leslie WritesWritten by Leslie Writes

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.