Wander logo

A Tour of Florida

The Sunshine State

By Shanon NormanPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

I used to say I was born in the Garden State and raised in the Sunshine State because I moved to Florida from New Jersey in 1983 when I was 12 years old. I moved back to New Jersey in 2007, then I moved back to Florida in 2010. Then I moved back to New Jersey in 2019. I've been visiting in Florida since Thanksgiving 2020 and I'm looking forward to going back to New Jersey as soon as possible in 2021.

Don't get me wrong, Florida has a lot to offer. Florida is not my home though, but I can give you a great virtual tour and tell you all about the parts of Florida that are great and worthy. I was raised in the Tampa Bay area and I know it quite well. Currently I'm visiting in Pinellas County which includes two well-known cities: St. Petersburg and Clearwater which make up the Tri-City area when included with Tampa. I get bored around here easy because I've seen and been to everything that's great about the area. However, if you've not visited Florida, Tampa Bay (Home of the Champion teams the Bucs and the Lightning) and it's surrounding cities have plenty of treasures for you to enjoy.

If you love the beach, Clearwater and St. Petersburg will not disappoint. The beaches are clean and beautiful and the Gulf of Mexico offers a gentle and easy swim with no waves. In the summertime the water is usually clear and warm. The sand is white and the people are friendly enough. There are shops and restaurants around the public beach areas along with a wide array of hotels and vacation rentals. It's not cheap and if you don't have money, then don't bother coming to Florida. Everything here is expensive and tourism is the main source of income. If you've got the money, I recommend the finest hotel in St. Petersburg, the Don Cesar. It's a huge pink castle right on the beach and it doesn't get more luxurious that that. If the beach begins to bore you, there are some great sites to see not too far away such as the Dali Museum and the Holocaust Museum, both located in downtown St. Pete. In Clearwater, you can make a great day out of visiting the Clearwater Marine Aquarium which offers boat tours and educational entertainment regarding marine life such as dolphin and turtles. The movie "Dolphin Tale" (about the famous dolphin named Winter) was filmed at the aquarium and the surrounding area, and Clearwater is quite proud of it.

If you want more exciting than a beach town can offer, then head over to Tampa. Into sports? The Bucs play at the Raymond James Stadium during football season, and the Lightning play at the Amalie Arena. Into theater? Check out the Straz Center located in downtown Tampa to catch a local or traveling show. Into rollercoasters? Definitely visit Busch Gardens as it offers many coasters to ride along with other rides, games, shows, and food. Adventure Island, the sister park is in the same area if you want to enjoy water slides, wave pools, and river tubing. If you prefer natural explorations over guided tours or commercial entertainment, just look online for the state parks in the Tampa or St. Petersburg areas and you'll discover plenty of that as well. They have camping, canoeing, kayaking, and fishing. Don't go canoeing if you're afraid of gators as it is very likely you will see one in the rivers.

If all of that isn't enough for you, then I recommend heading to Orlando, Florida's theme park city and home of famous Disney World. Of course, Orlando is also a city that banks on the money of tourists, so if you're broke, don't bother. In lovely Orlando, you will find glamorous resort hotels, plenty of theme park entertainment, and interesting dining experiences. Theme parks there include Disney World, MGM, Animal Kingdom, Pleasure Island, Sea World, Universal Studios, and Islands of Adventure. My favorite hotel to stay at is Embassy Suites, which offers luxury in an apartment styled hotel room plus free breakfast. The most famous Orlando restaurant is Medieval Times Dinner Theater, where you watch knights joust, jesters play, and eat and drink like your sitting with King Arthur himself. With all that action in Orlando, you could stay there for several months trying to see and do it all. If I was to make Florida my home, Orlando would be the city I'd want to keep exploring. It's the Los Angeles of Florida.

There are many people who talk about other cities in Florida like Miami, Key West, Daytona, and St. Augustine. I have some knowledge of those cities and from what I know, I do recommend them, however I don't know enough to give you an honest review.

If you do come to Florida to see the sights and enjoy a tropical vacation, I hope you have a wonderful time and return to your home with lovely memories. I know I will.

america
Like

About the Creator

Shanon Norman

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.