Wander logo

A Stroll Along the Belt of Venus

Antitwilight

By Mary KatePublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
Sunset | Long Beach, New York

Let’s talk about antitwilight. Antitwilight is that beautiful pink and purple glow that appears in our sky just before sunrise and after sunset. In my opinion, this has to be the most underappreciated natural phenomenon.

I was born with a rare genetic condition that progressively weakens my vision over time, and makes my retinas more fragile and prone to tears or detachments. I know it will never get any better, so I just hope everyday that it doesn’t get any worse, or at least takes its time getting there.

This doesn’t make me an expert on antitwilight, it just makes me a lover of nature in all her glory. I make it a top priority to see all the sunrises and sunsets I possibly can before my time runs out. While I naturally have a ticking clock in the back of my mind everyday, I think its important for us all to remember that our days on this earth are numbered. I find that I may be more aware of it day to day, but tomorrow is never guaranteed, so remember to get outside and adventure while you can.

The antitwilight pictured above occurred just after one of those wonderful summer thunderstorms that pass over just in time to give us the drama we all want and need in our photos. Even as an amateur photographer using nothing but my iPhone, I knew in my bones this was going to be a good one, so I drove down to the beach and Mother Nature did not disappoint.

Through my adventures, I’ve learned that while I love a good sunset, I love antitwilight even more. Last year, I traveled to Maui, Hawaii to view the sunrise from Mount Haleakala, also known as "House of the Sun". I hopped on the bus with my tour group at around 3:00 a.m. in pitch black to make the trek up to the top. There were no lights along the way other than the headlights from our tour bus, and the popping in my ears was the only indication we were headed up. We got off of the bus and the silence was immediately palpable at 10,023' up in the sky, above the clouds, as everyone stood in awe to welcome a new day.

While the sun slowly made its appearance, we were directed to look in the opposite direction to view the Belt of Venus. Pink, purple, and blue slowly cascaded into a horizon of clouds sprinkled with stars. A Park Ranger performed a chant welcoming the sun as we all listened. It was the most spiritual experience I have had, and to think I almost postponed that trip to 2020.

It's a mental photograph I never want to lose. I was so in awe, I did not even think to take out a camera, and those are the moments worth living.

My condition makes me hyperaware. I want and need to go on all the adventures I can, big and small, and appreciate every single moment. I usually cry at sunrises and sunsets, and most things actually. But, in a way I can appreciate these cards I was dealt, because I have acquired a deeper sense of gratitude for my environment, my body even with its flaws, and my support system of friends and family.

I took this photo three weeks ago. I took my time to walk down to the water, letting my feet dig into the wet sand as I sat, waiting for antitwilight to make its appearance. I did not get one photo of sunset; this was definitely the real show.

nature
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.