Wander logo

A Picture Of A Thousand Words

The Tower Of Peace

By Roberto AlagoPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
1
The Tower Of Peace

A Picture Of A Thousand Words

By Roberto Alago

There is a very old proverb that says; "A picture is worth a thousand words." But, what is a picture without words to provide context?

It is nothing more than an image that generates more questions than answers. Oh, it may speak volumes to the observer's imagination, it may even accurately depict a moment in time. Yet, it will not help the viewer understand its true context.

Take this photo; for example. When you look at it and observe its details... What do you see? What do you imagine? What does it tell you about the photographer? What does it say about the structure depicted? Who created it? Do you know where it was built? Was it easy or difficult to construct? How did its creator feel while he was building it? How did he feel when it was done? How long did it take? How long did it last?

So, you see...A photo may raise as many questions as it may answer. Every photo taken and publicly displayed, should be accompanied by a brief description that includes as much detail as possible. Unless... Its purpose is to stimulate the viewer´s imagination.

That is where a photo speaks more than anything. The imagination has the power of taking in visual stimuli and fill in the gaps of information and meaning. So, weather you display a photo with a description or not; will depend on your intent.

As for this photo, I wonder... Should I tell you the details? Or leave it to your imagination? Knowing the details; Will it help you understand? Or ruin the experience for you?

Well... I will leave it up to you; the reader. If you want to know the mundane details, read on. Otherwise, this is where you should stop reading. I bid you farewell and thank you for your read...

What? You are still here? Are you sure you want to know? I promise you, whatever your imagination envisioned about this image is a lot more interesting than what I'm about to tell you. You have been warned. Once you know, you won't be able to see this image the same way you had until now.

All right, you asked for it. For starters, let me assure you, it is real. No tricks, no wires, no glue was used to create this stack; just gravity and the laws of Physics. Yes, I am both; the creator of this structure and the photographer that took the picture. I created this, with my LG-6 Android phone at 1:30 pm, the afternoon of February 3, 2021. At the time, I was at Peralonso river in Cornejo, San Cayetano, Norte de Santander, Colombia, South America.

I was vacationing there with my wife, as that is her hometown. Her sister had come over with a Grandniece that screams for everything and was getting on my nerves. So, I went to the river, which is only about a one hundred meters walk, to relax.

While there, I remembered a video I had seen on YouTube about a man that builds these balancing stone structures and he said it was a relaxing hobby. So, I decided to give it a try. I set a goal to stack seven stones on top of the big rock.

Little did I know, how hard it was going to be. My first try; three rocks went up and while placing the fourth the whole thing collapsed. I tried again. Got four rocks stacked and while placing the fifth, another collapse. I Tried again and got six rocks stacked. I felt joyous for the first time, since I had started.

It was time to place the seventh rock. But, iaccompanirddeant to be. Time and time again the structure fell. I tried several different combinations to no avail. I was beginning to feel the heat of the day, the humidity and worst of all; frustration.

Not to be one who gives up easily, I wiped the sweat off my brow and decided to give it one more try, and another and another and viola. There it was. Seven rocks, perfectly balanced right in front of me. I poured water over the whole structure to test it and once I was sure it was going to stay, I took the photo and put my phone away.

I sat on another rock and contemplated my creation for a few minutes. Then, a gentle breeze came from the west side of the river and an overwhelming sense of peace engulfed me. It was something beyond description. A thousand words would not be enough to describe it. After about fifteen minutes, it was time to return the rocks to their original place.

After breaking down the stack and returning the rocks to the river base, I walked home with my head high, ready to face whatever life threw at me. Peace, unlike anything I felt before, accompanies me, day after day. Just thinking about the experience, makes me feel at ease all over again. I could say it was a spiritual experience. But, I won´t because, it goes against vocal media´s rules. Sufficient to say, it was an experience I will not soon forget. So, I name this structure; “The Tower Of Peace”

#photo #picture #writing #rock #stacking #tower #peace #nature #river #colombia #norte #santander #san #cayetano #cornejo #roberto #alago #proverb #worth #thousand #rio

travel photography
1

About the Creator

Roberto Alago

Born in PR. Married, Father of four and Grandfather of eight. Soldier, Computer Expert. Admissions Associate at Interactive College Of Technology. A versatile man with interests too numerous to list; including: Acting and Public Speaking.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.