Wander logo

A Perfect Day in Albuquerque, New Mexico

A Journey of History and Art

By Matthew HocuttPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

Waking up to the smell of coffee and toast was the perfect way to start my day, eager to explore a city that I only heard through conversations with friends. I rushed to send my emails and return client calls, so I could start my journey.

The National Museum of Nuclear Science & History

Exploring an unknown state, I needed to dedicate time to learning about the history of Albuquerque. I searched Yelp for popular attractions, and the first stop was The National Museum of Nuclear Science & History. Upon entering the museum, I am greeted with atom construction on my left and an interactive video game on my right. Starting down the left path, I learned about molecular bonds and how nuclear energy is used every day. Maneuvering around the corner, the museum transitions into nuclear bombs. This was my favorite exhibit. I was in the state where the atomic bombs used in World War II were designed and developed. New Mexico was also the first state to test an atomic bomb in 1945; changing the battlefield forever. Surrounding televisions were playing atomic explosions; giving the spectator the control of rewinding and slowing down the explosion. Finishing my tour, I scouted a cafe for lunch.

Owl Cafe

Sitting down at the Owl Cafe, a retro diner 5 minutes away from the museum, I order a green-chili hamburger with french fries. Before my meal came out, the waitress brought out an appetizer. Saltine crackers, pinto beans, and green chilies. I looked at her confused, as she tended to other customers. I was nervous. Something so simple and so strange was staring at me as I was hesitant to take the crackers out of their package. I took one of the crackers and scooped the dip onto the salty surface. I took a bite. At that moment I understood why New Mexico loves their chilies. The taste was well balanced between salty and spicy. The plainest of the crackers and beans now received an upgrade from the kick of the spicy green chilis. The burger came out and was delicious. But I was too caught up with the flavor from the simplest of appetizers to appreciate the burger. Finishing my meal, I headed toward Old Town Albuquerque.

Old Town Albuquerque was very quaint. Simple, yet booming with life. Locals and tourist spread out over every square inch of land. I stepped out of the Ford Fusion and enjoyed the cooler weather and the gentle breeze. Browsing through the shops, I came across fabulous Native American artwork. The colors were so rich. Turquoise, pastel pinks, and orange hues. I was so tempted to buy all the pieces but was restricted by the confines of my luggage. Leaving the store with remorse I headed to the tiny cathedral for a revelation. Ever since my visit to Notre Dame in Paris, France, I have been fascinated with Cathedrals. From their all-encompassing acoustics to their eloquent architecture. The white marble base walls and gold edged accents, had me mesmerized. I spent about 15 minutes appreciating this masterpiece before leaving.

Tour Guide Jordan from Albucreepy Ghost Walk tour.

Stopping to get dinner at Sushi King I bought a Groupon for a tour like no other, Albucreepy Ghost Walk. As silly as it was, the Groupon cost about $16, so I couldn’t pass on the opportunity to see a ghost. The tour educated the group with eerie history details and ghost stories. The tour guide, Jordan, dressed the part. Black teased hair, black nail polish, black clothes, and black eye liner. Contrary to appearances, he was entertaining. Rated as a PG-13 tour, the audience got to shout out “Real” or “Bullshit” to photographs taken by ghost hunters. We also learned about Mr. Hilton of Hilton Hotels, and how he got his start in New Mexico with his first hotel. Then we saw the famous parking toll booth from Breaking Bad. As the group finished the last stretch of the 1.3-mile walk we rushed inside for warmth. The tour is a once-in-a-lifetime ordeal, but worth the $16. Heading back to my bed, I smiled as the full moon followed me and ended my journey.

guide
Like

About the Creator

Matthew Hocutt

Hi, my name is Matthew and I am a Palm Springs native. I am a full-time insurance agent, so I like expressing and sharing knowledge about my industry and the life of being an agent through writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.