Wander logo

A Hawaiian Vacation

One of the best vacations I've ever been on

By Jordan HarrisPublished about a year ago 4 min read
2

So I recently got back from a 5 day trip to Honolulu, the state capital of Hawaii with my family. Being from New York State, It was nice to escape from the cold and snowy Northeast for a few days and be somewhere warm and sunny. This was actually my first time in years, going to Hawaii. The last time I went to Hawaii, I was nine years old, and as of this day, I am almost 21. Only last time, I was on the island of Kauai. This time, I went to the island of Oahu, where Honolulu is. I've actually been to Honolulu even before Kauai, but I was only a year old when it happened and I have no memory of that trip.

Anyways, The trip to Hawaii was kind of long and difficult to begin with. For starters, we had to get up at 2 in the morning to drive down to Queens. And we were not flying out of John F. Kennedy Airport, we were flying out of LaGuardia. We were taking a connecting flight to Honolulu, and we had a layover in Atlanta. The first flight to Atlanta wasn't that bad, but the flight from Atlanta to Honolulu was very long and tiring. We were seated in the middle of the plane in economy class. It looked something like this:

I was pretty uncomfortable for most of the flight, because there someone was sitting between me and my brother, so my dad switched seats with me for the rest of the flight. When we landed in Honolulu, it was a pleasant sight for all of us. We went and got our luggage and went to the resort we were staying at. Not only were we going to Honolulu, we were staying in the neighborhood of Waikiki, known for its nightlife and surfing.

The hotel we stayed at was called Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort. It was a walking distance from two major malls in the neighborhood, and a walking distance from the beach (obviously).

I had a blast in Hawaii, throughout the city, I rode on the electric scooters countless times. That was one of my favorite things to do. At nights, Waikiki was packed with tourists of many nations and races.

I also liked going into the ocean at the beach to, even though the salt water got into my eyes. My favorite part about staying at the hotel is going out in the evenings and doing stuff. I went to the different malls, and there was a lot of cool stores and sights to check out.

During the trip my family and I went out for a drive throughout the island, and we saw some amazing sceneries. We especially liked how the mountains looked. It was like looking at a painting.

And of course, we cannot forget about the food. On the trip, I ate a lot of burgers. There was this one place called Mahaloha Burger, and the burgers there were amazing. I would definitely recommend this place if you are visiting Waikiki sometime in the future.

Another burger place that I would recommend is the Banzai Burger. Their burgers are not at juicy as the burgers at Mahaloha Burger, but they are still good nevertheless.

Another food place that I would also recommend is Aloha Pizzeria, which is located in a food hall at one of the malls. This was not like New York style pizza that I am used to back in my home state. This pizza had very stringy cheese, and extremely thick crust. It was like eating a breadstick. I've never tasted pizza like that before, and if I were to ever visit Waikiki again, I would definitely get pizza from there. Finally, I got some tacos from a place called Surf N' Turf tacos, and some donuts from a placed called Donut King. I would highly recommend visiting those two places as well.

While we were in Hawaii, we also saw the new Avatar movie. And we saw in in IMAX 3D. We do not have those type of movie theaters back in my hometown, so it was pretty exciting to see it on that type of screen.

The flight back to home was overnight, but luckily I slept well on the flight. And on top of that, we were upgraded to first class. I didn't wake up until there was an hour and a half left in the flight. I wish I was back in Hawaii, where the weather is not cold and really warm. But it is good to be back home. I will definitely visit Hawaii again in the future.

Added bonus: two very amusing things happened while we were in Hawaii. On our first night at our hotel, some dude got really drunk, and pooped outside on the sidewalk, and passed out. We could smell the poop from the lobby of the hotel, because there was no doors. When we went out for a drive one day, we witnessed another man playing with himself while being under a blanket. This made my mom get into a giggle fit, and my dad recorded the guy.

family travelamericaactivities
2

About the Creator

Jordan Harris

Just a 20 something college student trying to find his way in life. I'm new to the writing world so give me a chance.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.