Wander logo

A day in the life: Africa

Tales from my travels

By Donald De-SouzaPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
De-Souza @ Keta Beach

Following the lockdown around the globe, a the most busiest cities silenced by the fear of illness or breach of law, I decided to travel back to the motherland as it had been a long time away. You see, I was originally from Africa and like many others migrated to my current country of residence for the better opportunities available. For a long time I had barely thought of what it was like back home. But the Covid crises gave me and many others I'm sure time to reflect. Based on that, I packed up and headed straight to the gateway to Africa, the Gold Coast, the leader of Independence, Ghana.

In what is to be a series of real life stories, I invite you to take a trip with me as I share with you my experiences of the day to day occurrences in details that would make you feel you were there with me through the good, the bad and the exciting.

Right after touchdown in the capital, I noticed the airport had received a major facelift, very modern look and facilities. Got picked up by a family member with the brightness of the sun in his smile, it was indeed so good to be back. The high rise buildings and lights...oh the lights were so beautiful. It was ecstatic, and couldn't wait to get home and have some of that sweet...wait what is this...traffic jam? at 11pm, what could have happened??...

We gradually inched ahead while using the opportunity to catch up on what's new and an style. The conversation was mostly about the change in lifestyle brought about by the pandemic, the myths around the various local treatments and how the powers that be are forcing "ineffective" vaccines on the populace in order to line their own pockets. Well...all these and more while tried to take pretty nice pictures for my gallery. We eventually got to the cause of the traffic jam and suddenly the lights of two torchlights started moving towards us through the front of the car. My cousin quickly put on the light inside and a police officer came to my side of the car. He greeted nicely as I rolled down my window. This immediately was followed by a phrase I knew too well and thought was no longer in use. "Chairman welcome ooo.. nothing for your boys?" I laughed slightly as its been ages since I experienced that. Some things never change, I thought as I handed him a note as my appreciation for their service, Afterall we were on our way to sleep and they had to stay in the dark to maybe ward off criminals. Then again, a man holding a gun in the dark (forgot to mention the street lights were off) asking for alms isn't one you should argue with. We got praises and thanks from him and were waved through. The road was clear ahead, man made traffic my cousin said. We both laughed as some very nice afro music suddenly started playing on the radio.

The air was fresh, and the night quiet, the trees waved in the darkness, and the moon stayed ahead of us, as if to direct us home. We were almost home free I thought. Through an alley my cousin slowed down and as I looked out the window, an evenly spaced number of ladies were standing by the road, in very seductive clothes and makeup but not going anywhere. I turned to look at my cousin who gave me a cynical smile and said...our people. we both laughed deeply. By slowing down, he had elicited whistles from them which was his idea of fun as they thought he was going to stop and pick one of them. We eventually got to the house entrance. I could see through the gate the entire household was still up waiting. This was going to be fun indeed.

africa
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.