Wander logo

A Colombian Adventure

Giving back to a country that has so much to give

By Kelly PantaleoniPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like

No amount of research can prepare you for that feeling of when you step out of the airport in a new country. When I arrive in Cartagena and start about my quest I can imagine people dressed in colorful outfits littering the streets, smiling, selling their wares, giving directions. I will immediately do the first thing I usually embark upon when entering a new country, eager to learn the culture and people; search for the local markets. Meet the locals, see what they make, their art, their food.

I will then venture to my hostel or backpackers lodge to mingle with fellow travelers and learn the hot spots, places to visit and avoid. After dropping off my things, I will head out to the first spot on my restaurant list: La Cevecheria. One of my favorite dishes, I can't wait to eat ceviche nearly every day. No doubt delicious, I will thoroughly enjoy every bite while looking out on the street as horse drawn carriages go by. I excitedly look forward to waking up and exploring cafes in the old town, sipping their world class coffee and watching people walk by, imagining the diverse life each distinctly different face lives. During the day I want to visit the mud Volcano and enjoy a relaxing spa day in the natural bubbling bath.

Another day I will take a boat to go snorkeling and hopping around the Rosario islands. As the sun sets, I will make my way to the walls of the Castillo San Felipe de Barajas fort to watch the day come to a perfect end. Guitars and laughter will be the soundtrack (with i’m sure the occasional blaring of car horns) and out at sea there will be nothing but the sun shining off of the waves and birds looking for their last meal of the day. Sunsets are supposed to symbolize the end of the day but from what I hear, in Cartagena they signal the beginning: The city truly comes alive at night. I will go to the famous salsa club that many famous figures over the years have made it to, With a live band playing and people were dancing like they were paid to do it. Several hours and several clubs later I’ll notice the sun returning in the opposite direction to which I left it, and stumble happily home.

A huge part of all my travels is also giving back, that’s why I am the CEO of a non profit called “Give Backpackers” -an organization that raises money at home then delivers the donations alongside volunteer time in the chosen destinations. Last year we raised enough money to buy 14 sewing machines and a plot of land in Uganda for a group of village women to create a community center, a sustainable business model and an education resource for generations to come. While in Colombia I plan to give back along the way where I can, and in Cartagena I can stay with a local family through “Cultural Homestay International” teaching them English and contributing in other ways where I can.

Next up on the adventure: Medellin. It is is roughly 5,000 feet in elevation so it is very different from the sea level Cartagena. I have heard this is a city that has tourists, not a city built FOR tourists. I will stay in the Poblado neighborhood with the brunch places, jewelry and incense shops, and fancy patio restaurants. Walk a little further and there is a strip of clubs and bars, so if i’m up for an adventure I may go explore that area later too. Pergamino, the world famous coffee shop, will be my first stop. They explain the history behind each bean and almost all come within a short radius of the city. If im lucky I may even find a non-tourist coffee farm to tour nearby, as I did in Uganda. It is a fun way of seeing another side of the country, from a unique angle that usually only the locals see.

I’ve read that Medellin is a much more active city than Cartagena and countless joggers in athleisure run by, some stopping for a quick chat or coffee. It feels like a city where people live as opposed to one catered to outsiders. Apparently the food is also much much better (which makes sense if it’s less of a tourist hotspot and more of a “real” city) From research, the people of Medellin are much taller and have fairer skin; Much more Spanish than Caribbean. Like the clothes in Colombia, every dish has to have an abundance of color. After eating divine seafood for lunch followed by a delicious visit to the fruit markets I will find my way to a hookah bar and chat with some locals or travelers.

The street art looks intriguing so I could spend the afternoon walking around the city staring at the free outdoor art galleries, or perhaps go check out the stunning historic El castillo museum. For some evening festivities -if I have the energy- I can go to an afro caribbean dance club, euro deep house rave, and spanish flamenco club all in one night (and within 500 feet of each other) People there know how to party; It is a very sexy and sensual country and you can tell by how people dance. From what i’ve heard it really is a sight to behold.

The next day I will go venture into the jungle an hour out of the city and rent ATVs. The tour lasts 5 hours and we will drive through untouched villages, visit the infamous Escobar Cartel airport, ford through rivers, have lunch in a hut cooked by local grandmas, and race down the mountain. I so look forward to meeting the local families, eating meals with them and hearing about their rich culture and stories. For sunset, I want to take the light rail to a gondola that goes over the local hills and to a nature preserve. It’s supposed to be a very humbling experience as you can see all of the favelas from this view. The houses are no more than pieces of metal and stones stacked for miles and the vantage point from the gondola allows you to peer down into their lives. I’m sure it will inspire me to do more to help the people in this beautiful country that has already given me so much (even through this virtual vacation I feel a new zest for life) If I am feeling the urge to explore further, Guatapé is a colorful town two hours away that is spectacular for day trips. I could go solo, or invite fellow travelers I meet in the hostel.

For a volunteering experience in Medellin, the Globalteer project “provides safe retreats for vulnerable children, protecting them from the many temptations of the city and providing them with free education and food.” I will spend time with this organization and the children, likely bringing donations and supplies for school and sports.

Although I am deeply looking forward to the sites, seafood, fruit, coffee and dancing in Colombia, the part I most look forward to when visiting new countries is meeting the locals and feeling part of the culture. Living with families, eating with them, learning their language and cooking styles, habits and rituals, how they interact with each other and the world around them. This will come through the homestay experience and volunteering, hopefully meeting people along the journey and any miracles that come my way as they usually do on my foreign backpacking trips.

I highly encourage every adventurous traveler to find ways to give back along their pilgrimages, it is rewarding beyond explanation and the experiences you will have are unlike anything you can imagine in your wildest dreams. Check my Give Backpackers organization out if you need any inspiration, or the non profit's I mentioned in this article!

Safe travels and may the force be with you,

Kelly Pantaleoni.

south america
Like

About the Creator

Kelly Pantaleoni

Kelly Pantaleoni is an Australian actress & philanthropist, known for producing purpose-driven projects & most recently initiating a sustainable sewing program with women in Uganda as part of her international organization Give Backpackers

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.