Wander logo

A City within a Desktop Screensaver

A look into Beaver Nation.

By KamPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
4

I’m originally from Corvallis, Oregon. If you know where that is, 10 points. If you know where Portland is, 5 points. Most conversations where the obligatory – “so where are you from” ends up with me saying Corvallis, someone having zero clue where that is and looking confused, and me ending with, “You know where Portland is? It’s an hour and a half from there.”

Everything you've come to know about Oregon is probably true. It's beautiful, it's green, and yes, we have a million despensaries. Oregon State University is the highlight of the town of Corvallis, not to be confused with University of Oregon in Eugene. Trust me, just like the movies of dramatic rival high schools, the one between Corvallis and Eugene is alive and well. The highschools follow in suit. Corvallis High School and Crescent Valley High. Spartans VS Raiders. OSU VS U of O. Beavers VS Ducks.

We take Beaver games very seriously.

Back to the beautiful part of Oregon, specifically Corvallis. For those of you on this platform that also grew up in small towns, I hope you understand. I'll always be proud of where I'm from and having to go back during the pandemic was like living in a Microsoft Windows Screensaver - (see proof above.) However, growing up in a small town is also difficult. You can't walk anywhere without running into someone you know, especially when your parents are apart of every club in town. And more specifically, when you have the same face as your Mom, who a time or two has been awarded Citizen of the Year. For reference:

The Oregon Coast on a *rare* sunny day.

During the very beginning of shutdowns during the pandemic, I went to Portland for work, and two days into being there: I got stuck. I went back to my childhood room, with my parents, and a whole lot of photos of myself. To give you some background: When my Senior Year of High School came, I knew I had to get out of my little town. For extra perspective, I went to a K-8 that was directly next to the High School, and when I say directly, I mean DIRECTLY. Accordingly to Google Maps it's 0.3 miles away. I spent most of elementary and middle school dreaming of walking the halls of the high school as an actual high schooler. Then I got there and I dreamed of college, as long as it was outside of Corvallis, Oregon.

I was home for 10 months during 2020. The longest I'd been home since I graduated from High School, now, as a college graduate. I spent most of childhood dreaming of getting out and now, I was so incredibly grateful to be back. I reconnected with friends I had only FaceTimed with. I found new roads to drive on in the rain. I used my time to focus on my health and the health of my parents - I became the cook of the house while home. And the picture's just don't do it justice. Here's how it went:

As the sappy, iPhone made video shows: I got to see Marc, my best friend since Kindergarten, who I only see once a year, which is never enough. Kelsey, my best friend from High School who always knows how to get me out of a funk, and who just got a new puppy, Zelda, who made my heart swell. Haleigh, my best friend from middle school who lets me be 100% myself and who I can talk to about anything. My two friends, Rilee and Molly, who make me smile more than anything in the world. I got to watch my new little puppy brother, Hunter, grow up and cuddle with me. I babysat two little boys who stole my heart. I also fell in love from a state away, through Hinge, with the boy of dreams, who visited for 5 weeks at a time. I can't thank him enough. (Also, not an ad for dating apps, but hey, it worked for me.) But most importantly, I spent time with my parents that can't be replaced. I talked with them about my future plans, their plans, our dreams, and everything that they're worried about for their future. Watching my Dad scream with excitement at Biden winning the presidency was the icing on the cake.

So, from Oregon to California and everything in between. I couldn't be more thankful for my little town and all the perspective it brought me during the hardest, year of my life.

photography
4

About the Creator

Kam

My belief: Either write something worth reading or do something worth writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.