Wander logo

8th Grade Grad Wins a Trip to NYC from a Scratch- Off Ticket

Ok, so maybe I created the scratch off ticket and really it was an 8th grade graduation gift... but either way we both won...because neither of us had been to the Big Apple

By Vanessa R. PowellPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
5

Ok, so maybe I created the scratch off ticket and really it was an 8th grade graduation gift... but either way we both won...because neither of us had been to the Big Apple. We're from a small town in Evansville, IN (Population: 118,588 -2019). The closest we've gotten to New York City is Chicago. We LOVE visiting downtown Chicago.

*Keep in mind, this trip was pre-pandemic.*

I may be a photographer but that doesn't mean I am a videographer HAHA. I shoot video for fun only.

Day 1

Day 2

Day 3

*At 2:30-2:33 this is such a short "revelation" that most people won't understand my excitement. It was a really cloudy day and the clouds parted just enough for the sun to shine through in a heart shape. For more information on why this is important in my life, you'll want to add this to your reading list:

Day 3 was really exciting for me also for the photography side of things. For a long time I have wanted to do a photoshoot in the middle of a crowded area.

Times Square 2019 - Photograph by author
47th & Broadway Street - Photography by author

Day 4

Looking back, I realize this trip was a little extravagant for an 8th grade graduation. I had recently gotten a bonus check that paid for this whole vacation. While I realize I don't have to explain myself, nor try to justify the trip...I am an over explainer and can't help myself!

We had SUCH a great time on this trip. Prior to this trip I had recently taken my first solo trip. I drove to Nashville, TN and flew to Denver, CO for a 3 day Photography Summit. I am really glad I had taken that trip prior to this one. It really gave me the confidence to embark on this journey with my daughter.

We stayed at Hotel Edison on 47th & Broadway. I tried to find a hotel as close to Times Square as possible. Mission accomplished! We loved that we could walk just about anywhere we wanted. Central Park was less than a mile from our Hotel as well. We did have a little trouble with the Hotel itself. The first room we were put in had a leak from the A/C unit and the carpet was wet. We requested another room and had the same problem again... along with some issues with the bathroom. Third time is a charm! The last room was much better and that's where we ended up staying. One thing I found strange, the first room compared to the other two rooms was much smaller. So I'm not sure if I was upgraded due to the troubles or if the sizing of their rooms is all over the place.

We took the train two different times. The first time we must have been lucky on figuring out where we needed to go... the 2nd time I put us a few blocks away. I had never navigated a train route before so I guess there's that! haha

I'm also not the best planner. I didn't really have an itinerary per se. I just knew: I wanted a Hotel near Times Square, and a few of the landmarks that we wanted to see. I was a little bummed that Alexander Hamilton's home was farther away than I anticipated. It was a $50 Uber there AND back and that was the ONLY thing I wanted to see in Harlem. I probably should have done a little more research for the trip.

I have definitely learned some things along the way of traveling to new cities/states. In fact, I have already started a few notes on my phone for upcoming trips I would like to take. Researching hotels, airbnb's, flights, tips and tricks from other travelers. I even joined a few facebook groups for travelers in some of the places I want to visit. I highly recommend doing this if you are traveling to a new place!

Here are a few of my other adventures:

travel advice
5

About the Creator

Vanessa R. Powell

I am a portrait photographer, graphic designer, creator extraordinaire, oh and I sell Scentsy. I suppose I am dabbling in writing too 😊 | Based in Evansville, IN | I am 721vanessa Photography | www.721vanessa.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.