Wander logo

5 things to do in Edinburgh

Or what I like to do in Edinburgh

By WandererWannabePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Oh Edinburgh ….

I could so go back, try the same places again, and don't even fret for not trying or finding new things…

There's the usual must do's, and must go's in every city, but I have my ones:

1 - Scary tours

I know that I talk again and again about graveyards, but Edinburgh is one of the most haunted cities in the world. - Or so they say - So, take a tour that shows you the graveyards and the scary stories. My advice is the "City of the Dead" tour, it shows you the underground of the city, and also Greyfriars graveyard. It's worth every penny, and it won all sorts of awards, so it's not only my opinion.

2 –Camera Obscura

A place of illusions and science, that blew me away. Laying with mirrors and lights, some very interesting illusions (some amazing pics for me), and a really old way to see the city. It was without a doubt one of those places that I went in just because, and ended up being there way more time than expected.

3 - Whisky Experience

Yes, it's impossible to go to Scotland and not to try whisky. I'm not a whiskey drinker, but between this and a visit to a distillery, I ended up trying it and even enjoying it a bit. It's an opportunity to understand what is needed to make whisky and gives you a quick peek at the larger whisky collection in the world, and even a tasting. Overall is one of those must-do's that has several options, from the most basic, to some that even include some food on the award-winning restaurant.

4 - Greyfriars kirkyard

Yes, I know. Every time I talk about Edinburgh I end up talking about this Graveyard, but for me is one of the best. It has an amazing history, some very interesting stories, paranormal activity - yes, yes. Here she is again with the ghost stories - and most importantly, it's beautiful.

5 - The Meadows

I'm always the odd one. I explained a million times that one of my favorite things to do in a new city is to just wander around and take some pics. I've done it in Edinburgh, and one of the places where I ended up spending more time taking pics was in the meadows. The reason is simple: although it has some interesting views of the castle, for me what was incredible was the squirrels. They just wander over there and even pose to pictures.

These are some of the things that I have on my list to experience again on my next trip to Edinburgh. Whenever that could happen. But, here are 2 more as a bonus, taking into account that I haven't experienced these:

Hogmanay

One of the best New year festivals in the world. That's the line that everyone hears when someone talks about it. Unfortunately for me, I've never experienced it but I'll be there one day.

Fringe Festival

Another tradition that I haven't experienced, but that will make me come back. In August, during a period of 3 weeks, Edinburgh is the center of the arts in the world, over 50,000 performers participate, and is there a better way to find some more creativity.

I've been talking about Edinburgh nonstop since the first time I went there. It still is one of my favorite cities in the world, and it will probably be kept in my top 5 for a long time

We can dive into the history of the city, experience some of its eccentricities, enjoy the scariest ghost stories, or simply drink a bit of whisky with some of the nicest people you'll ever know.

europe
Like

About the Creator

WandererWannabe

Still stuck in a corporate world, but dreaming to leave it. Can be found in http://wandererwannabe.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.