Wander logo

5 Things Living In France For a Year Taught Me

Why packing a suitcase’s worth of summer clothes and spontaneously moving to France for a year was one of the best learning experiences of my life.

By Soha SherwaniPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
2
5 Things Living In France For a Year Taught Me
Photo by Chris Karidis on Unsplash

1. Life doesn’t have to be hectic

Taking a quick look into Paris will reveal one prominent thing: the sidewalks and streets are crowded with people exploring the city at speeds that could only be described as leisurely and slow.

In my year of living in France, I noticed that people almost never seemed to be in a rush. At the grocery store, I noticed people standing in aisles taking their time deciding what to buy instead of the quick glance and grab I was used to seeing Americans do. It was incredibly refreshing to see people living with purpose and enjoyment. One of the biggest lessons I learned from my stay in France was that if you aren’t in a rush, don’t act like it. Now, I try and enjoy every moment life throws my way; even the most mundane of tasks; allowing me more time to reflect and to lead a more purposeful life.

2. Small talk isn’t necessary

Countless. That is how many situations I have been in where small talk was inescapable. Thankfully for me, moving to France allowed me to escape the black hole that is small talk.

In the States, small talk is everywhere. With the cashier at Walmart, in waiting rooms, with the person behind you in line, even with customer service on the phone!

But, in France, small talk isn’t necessary or even a social nicety. The concept of making small talk for pleasure, politeness, or out of boredom just doesn’t exist. Admirably, the French enjoy minding their business and living life for themselves, which means that small talk often isn’t in the equation for a successful day. So the next time you visit France, don’t be surprised when you get an odd glance from the mailman when you ask how he’s enjoying the beautiful weather today.

3. Closing up shops earlier can be either inconvenient or rewarding

Neon signs boasting businesses operating 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, and grocery stores open until hours bordering between morning and night are common sights in America. In a country based on and dependent on convenience, the average American can do virtually anything at virtually any time.

However, in France, convenience isn’t always a factor in determining when stores close for the day or what days they stay open. Many grocery stores close at very early hours in the evening, like 6 or 7 o clock. Additionally, lots of major grocery stores aren’t open at all on Sunday and many shops take long lunch breaks in the middle of the day, resulting in a closed shop for several hours.

As a Texan, I was used to craving something at late hours of the night and driving to my nearest grocery store in order to satisfy that craving. Things were open (or always stayed open) for most of the day. Naturally, I was initially very frustrated with the limited shopping time I had. While having to plan out and eliminate times to go shopping was annoying at times, I also quickly found that the schedule was also fruitful in making lots of memories with my family. The less time that stores were open meant more time at home with my family. Closing many stores on Sunday unofficially made Sunday a family day for my household and resulted in lots of quality time spent with each other. Ironically, this is the main reason that many stores are closed on Sunday; so that the employees can enjoy a day at home with their families. The French value their personal and family time and further appreciating those two things is something I owe to France.

4. The art of walking — everywhere!

The French and walking go hand and hand. Or should I say foot and foot?

During my year in France, I found out that it is a country built for walking. There are often separate lanes for walkers, sidewalks are larger to accommodate walkers, and the actual roaders for drivers are smaller. This has resulted in smaller, compacter cars and more walkers. In America, I noticed that the country is built for busy drivers; the roads and cars are larger and the sidewalks are smaller; a foil to France. People in America usually don’t walk everywhere. Things are more spread out and usually not within walking distance. Even if things were within walking distance, small sidewalks and busy streets don’t make for a convenient walk; hence the few numbers of walkers in America.

France has taught me that the world looks different through eyes versus through car windshields. The world, for starters, looks so much more beautiful when you walk. You can see the people around you, notice details that you never noticed in your car, and take in your commute in a new and fresher way. Going to the grocery store doesn’t have to be an “errand run”, it can be a scenic route if you walk there. Not to mention, good excercise! Why do you think the French never get fat?

5. Appreciation of the quaint

Don’t get me wrong, I love the futuristic and modern. But, there is something to be said about the quaint.

The world raves about European archeticeture and how unique it is. “You can’t find anything like it in the world!” Those people aren’t just pretentious wannabes, they’re right. Specifically, France has some of the most beautiful architecture I have ever seen out of the many counties I have visited. My time in France has taught me to appreciate the simple, classical, and quaint pleasures of life. In America, there is too much money spent on rennovating, modernizing, and making things “less-dated”. While switching things up to match today’s style is something I am usually in favor for, I realized how important it is to appreciate the quaint. The schools here aren’t made to look like malls, many buildings here haven’t been updated since they were originally built, and homes are smaller, cozier, and more classical. The result? Sophisticated architecture oozing an elegant look that only time can bring.

Beyond the wonderful memories I have made in France, I have learned a lifetime’s worth of lessons. France has gifted me one of the greatest gifts: a fresh perspective on life. Regardless of where you live, I firmly believe that we could all use a few lessons from the French.

travel lists
2

About the Creator

Soha Sherwani

Hello everyone! You can find me @SherwaniSoha on Twitter and @SohaSherwani on Medium!

Thanks for reading!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.